Slinger Supper Speedway - Race Report

logosm.gif (6163 bytes)

Slinger Speedway Honors 2006 Champions
Prunty(s), Graczkowski, Nottestad, Van Camp Crowned

By Todd Thelen

(Slinger, WI); January 8, 2007 - Slinger Super Speedway completed its 59th year of racing during the 2006 season and the annual awards festivities capped off another successful campaign for the Worlds Fastest Quarter Mile Asphalt Oval. The Awards Ceremony took place Saturday evening January 6th 2007 at The Chandelier Ballroom in Hartford, WI. Dinner was catered by the Eden Meat Market and preceded the awards ceremony while Comedy Sportz provided entertainment after all the cash and hardware was handed out.

Photo Highlights


Heading the list of Champions crowned was Late Model Champion David Prunty. Other champions receiving accolades were: Midwest Sportsman – Mike Graczkowski, Limited Late Model – Scott Nottestad, Midwest Modified – Dale Prunty, and Figure 8 – Donald VanCamp Jr. The Late Model Rookie of he Year Award went to Josh Bauer; Midwest Sportsman Rookie of the Year was Ryan Zielski.

2006 Late Model Champion David Prunty had a division leading ten fast times, and fifteen top fives finishes. He had one trophy dash win to go with 4 feature wins. While driving the Stone Mountain Access Systems, Luedtke Lumber, PORT A JOHN Pontiac David won the second 75 lap Miller Lite Opener, The UEMSI Great Lakes Underground Equipment 65, The Pepsi 100, and The Sno-Way snow plow equipment 60. He was also the overall winner of the Pepsi Challenge on his way to winning his first late model track championship. Finishing in second place was veteran Al Schill with a division leading five wins. Third place was Lowell Bennett followed by Josh Bauer, Dennis Prunty, John Mueller, Nick Schumacher, Mike Egan, Fred Winn, and Collin Bamke rounded out the top 10.

Josh Bauer took home the 2006 Rookie of the Year honors by winning one feature, finishing in the top ten Eleven times, collecting two trophy dash wins, and one semi feature win. Josh finished 4th in the championship standings during his maiden voyage racing a late model on the high banks of the World’s Fastest 1/4 Mile Oval in the Cardinal Fabricators, Picks Pub Monte Carlo.

Driving the Port A John number 17 Dale Prunty completed a three peat in the Midwest Modified Division. Dale successfully defended his 2004 and 2005 titles by placing in the top five sixteen times, winning one trophy dash, setting fast time on four occasions and winning seven features. Steve Huelsbeck took runner up honors in the modified division with Ron Schmitt, Wes Biswell, Jason Feyereisen, Eddie Bentfield, John Kruschel, Joey Benteild, Joe Osterman, and Matt Pate rounding out the top ten.

2006 Midwest Sportsman Champ Mike Graczkowski driver of the Schroeder Implement, D&B Tool, Quality Welding Pontiac lead the division in feature wins with four, and Fast times with six. He also collected fourteen top tens, eight top fives and one trophy dash win. Brad Keith finished second in the Midwest Sportsman Division and the rest of the top ten are Pat McIntee, Jay Schambeau, Rob Braun, Mike Borchardt, Dave Thomas, Ryan Zielski, Scott Schambeau, and Jeff Holtz.

The 2006 Midwest Sportsman Rookie of the year is Ryan Zielski. Ryan recorded three top fives, ten top tens and one trophy dash win. In 2005 he recorded the most wins in the Complete Car Care Slinger Bee division before moving up divisions in 2006 and racing against seasoned veterans. Driving the Joe Cool Racing #21 Ryan showed he has the talent to get the job done.

Star Packaging jumped on board to sponsor the Limited Late Model Series. Scott Nottestad took top honors in the Star Packaging Limited Late Model Championship standings winning the title by a mere 12 points over Nick Schumacher. Driving the Badger Consulting, Kearns Motor Car Monte Carlo Nottestad recorded eight top tens, two fast times, one trophy dash win and two feature wins. Rounding out the top five was Andy Wendt, Jerry Eckhardt, and Kris Kelly.


2005 Champion Donald Van Camp repeated winning the 2006 Championship in the Figure 8 division. Donald had seven feature wins along with fifteen top five finishes. Runner up was Willy Van Camp, with Jeff Wohlabe, in third, Shane Becker in fourth and Scott Goetzke in fifth.

The Thunderstock division honors went to Al Stippich and Justin Okruhlica for recording the most wins with 2-checkered flags each. The Driver in The Complete Car Care Slinger Bee’s that recorded the most wins with 7-checkered flags is Travis Buchholz.

The 2007 season will open with a practice day on Saturday April 21st and The Miller Lite Twin Season Opener on Sunday Afternoon, April 22nd. April 29th and May 6th will also be afternoon races with Mothers Day May 13th starting night racing. It was also announced that Matt Kenseth will return to defend his 2006 Slinger Nationals title July 17th, 2007.

On behalf of track owner-promoter Wayne Erickson, and the entire staff Slinger Speedway would like to thank everyone that has been a part of the success the track enjoyed in 2006 - especially the many fans, teams, and sponsors.