Slinger Supper Speedway - Race Report

logosm.gif (6163 bytes)


By Dan Margetta

(Slinger, WI); September 17, 2006 -  Mark Fogel dominated the Spectator 200 Enduro Sunday afternoon at the Slinger Super Speedway, leading most of the way en route to his first victory in the event.

“It sure feels good to win one,” Fogel claimed from victory lane after lapping the field in the 200-lap race. “I’ve been trying for sixteen years and have always come up short.”

Photo Highlights


Fogel began the event from the third position and immediately launched into the lead from the standing start while enduro veterans Jeff Meulemans, Rick Cregger, Mike Kasparek, and Frank Calabrese all used the outside to advance forward. Meulemans provided the toughest challenge to Fogel as he caught the leader in heavy traffic and managed to sneak his way by to lead some laps during the mid-stages. Fogel quickly regained the top spot however, using lapped traffic to weave his way back to the front. Meulemans’ race ended when he experienced problems in the final 30 laps, forcing him to leave the track. Calabrese quietly remained in the top five for much of the race before turning in a late charge to finish second while Charlie Vian also raced amongst the leaders before completing the distance in third place. Kasparek finished in fourth place and Cregger was fifth. Jason Meulemans crossed the stripe in sixth place ahead of Scott Soine and Matt Born while Ron Wick and Larry Born completed the top ten finishers.

Aaron Cain topped the Compact Special 100, an enduro event consisting of four cylinder compact cars, in an exciting finish.

While Cain led a majority of the race, the win didn’t come without some fireworks as he collided hard with the spinning car of Frank Calabrese just before the finish line and limped to the win.

“I was watching the flagman when all of a sudden the #56 car spun in front of me and I just nailed him,” Cain stated afterwards. “At least I was able to get across the line because it would have been real disappointing if I didn’t.”

Dave Berndt led the opening laps before Justin Poenitsch took command while Cain steadily closed in on the leaders. As the leaders approached some slower cars, Cain used the heavy traffic to maneuver his way to the lead. By the time the leader completed 70 laps, Poenitsch had retired from the event after uncorking an engine and Berndt faded as Jeff Meulemans and Miles Dornbrook occupied the second and third spots respectively. Shawn Gavin and Frank Calabrese battled over the fourth position while Cain continued to increase his lead. Gavin dropped out of the event in the closing laps and Shane Becker entered the top five, passing Calabrese for the fourth spot.

As Cain approached the checkered flag, the fifth place running Calabrese spun in front of him and both cars collided heavily just feet before the finish line. As Cain’s car skidding to the infield, he was able to limp his way across the line for the win.


Meulemans finished in second place while Dornbrook completed the race in third place. Becker and Calabrese completed the top five.