Slinger Supper Speedway - Race Report

logosm.gif (6163 bytes)


By Dean Strom

(Slinger, WI) July 9, 2006 - Dennis Prunty won round 2 of the Pepsi Challenge presented by Nutrisoda and Culver’s of Jackson, Sunday night at Slinger Speedway by taking the 60-lap late model feature.

Photo Highlights

5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
Dennis Prunty (#42) won Round Two of the Pepsi Challenge presented by Culver's and Nutrisoda by besting his brother in the Super Late Model main event at Slinger Super Speedway.5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
Family rivalry!  Dennis Prunty (#42) takes the lead from his brother David Prunty (#1) during the Super Late Model main event.  Dennis would go on to win the contest.
5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
Robert Maynor (18), Jerry Eckhardt (61), Matt Raudabaugh (7), and Conrad Morgan (92) had no where to go when Bill Shavlik turned sideways between turns 1 and 2 during the Super Late Model semi-feature. 
5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
David Prunty (#1) topped the Super Late Model dash.
5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
John Mueller (#23) was the fast qualifier in Super Late Model feature action this evening.
5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
Jason Feyereisen (#90) topped the Midwest Modified feature race.
5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
Current Midwest Modified point leader Steve Huelsbeck (#61) won the dash event.
5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
Mike Graczkowski (#2) the made his way to victory lane after the Midwest Sportsman feature.5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
Mike Graczkowski (#2) works under Brad Keith (#48) on his way to grabbing the checkered flag in the Midwest Sportsman feature.

Dennis Prunty won round 2 of the Pepsi Challenge presented by Nutrisoda and Culver’s of Jackson, Sunday night at Slinger Speedway by taking the 60-lap late model feature.

Prunty took the lead on lap nine and held off his brother, David, to notch his first win of the 2006 campaign.

“I think he’s getting a little smarter, he’s been racing for awhile,” joked the winner, referring to David. “He knows how to race me hard.”

The late model feature got off to a rough start with three cautions in the first three circuits. The incidents eliminated current point runner-up Al Schill and sent championship contender Lowell Bennett to the back of the pack.

Throughout the cautions, Mike Egan paced the field while Dennis Prunty shadowed him. Dennis Prunty got around Egan with his brother following in the second spot.

At the half-way mark it was Dennis Prunty, David Prunty, Egan, fast qualifier John Mueller and Josh Bauer.

As the Prunty’s worked lapped traffic, David got a fender underneath his brother on numerous occasions, only to be pinched behind the slower machine.

In the second half of the event, Bauer, Mueller and last week’s feature winner, Jeremy Lepak all got past Egan.

The final 56 laps of the late model feature were run caution-free. Behind the Prunty’s, Bauer, Mueller and Lepak completed the top five.

Jason Feyereisen took the lead of the Midwest Modified feature at the halfway mark when leader Eddie Bentfield bobbled off of turn two. Feyereisen controlled the rest of the race to score the win.

Midwest Modified point leader Steve Huelsbeck charged to the runner-up spot while Wes Biswell, fast qualifier Ron Schmitt and Bentfield rounded out the top five.

Just one caution flag slowed the Modified feature. That occurred at lap 10 when Joseph Osterman and defending track champion Dale Prunty were eliminated in a two-car spin in turn four.

The Midwest Sportsman feature was won by Mike Graczkowski. Graczkowski was also the division’s fast qualifier.

Mike Borchardt took the lead at the drop of the green from his outside front row starting spot and led the first nine laps. Brad Keith then forged to the lead and held it for two laps before giving way to Graczkowski.

Graczkowski pulled away and scored the win over Borchardt, Jay Shambeau, Mark Kissinger and Scott Shambeau.

Several cautions slowed the Midwest Sportsman feature and prompted speedway officials to shorten the events distance from 30-laps to 25. Front-runners Ryan Zielski, Corey Funk, Andy Haver, Pat McIntee, Dean Olla and Brad Keith were all victims of the carnage that ensued during the run.

Pole Sitter Andy Wendt led every lap in route to a convincing limited late model feature win. Nick Schumacher, one of a handful of drivers pulling double duty on Sunday night, Scott Nottestad, Chris Ratajczyk and Jerry Eckhardt chased Wendt to the checkered flag.

Jason Schill won the speedway’s Port-A-John Guest car race while Willy VanCamp scored a last turn win in the Figure-8 curtain closer.

Slinger Speedway officials were forced to juggle the evening’s schedule when heavy rains swept through the area as the late model feature was being introduced. Track drying took nearly an hour, but the entire race schedule was completed.


For Complete results from the RACESTAT computer CLICK HERE 

Wisconsin Corn Growers - Rapid Mart BP E85 Night
Matt Kenseth Nextel Cup Car on Display


(Slinger, WI) Special:  Sunday Night July 16th: The Wisconsin Corn Growers Association and Hartford Rapid Mart bp present E85 Night at Slinger Speedway. See a 75 lap Late Model Feature along with our regular Sunday program that includes Midwest Modified, Midwest Sportsman, Complete Car Care Slinger Bees, Figure Eights, Port A John Speedway Guest Cars, One on One Spectator Eliminators and Thunderstocks. Plus Wisconsin Sport Trucks and a Roll Over Contest! Gates open at 4:45, Qualifying at 5:15, and Racing at 7:00.

Rapid Mart BP is your local E85 fuel source conveniently located on Highway 60 between Hartford and Slinger. Rapid Mart BP is your E85 fuel source.
E85 is a blend of 85% Ethanol and 15% gasoline. Ethanol is a clean, renewable, homegrown product produced right here is Wisconsin. Using ethanol-based fuel helps improve our air quality, and reduces our dependence on foreign oil. Check out the Wisconsin Corn Growers Association at:

There are select advertising and sponsorship opportunities as well as company and group outings available for the 2006 season outings available for the 2006 season. For more information, contact the speedway’s public relations department at: 262-370-0440, the track office at: 262-644-5921 or visit our web site at: