logosm.gif (6163 bytes)

Best of 2003 Honored at the Slinger Super Speedway Championship Awards Banquet!

January 10, 2004; Slinger, WI - Slinger Super Speedway celebrated it’s 56th year of racing during the 2003 Championship Awards Banquet, Saturday night, January 10th at the Washington County Fairgrounds. Track owner and promoter, Wayne Erickson, joined more than 600 members of the racing community to honor the drivers and crews who contributed to the success of the 2003 race season.

Photo Highlights

Headlining the evening was the crowning of the Late Model Champion, Brad Mueller. This was Mueller’s first Slinger Super Speedway track championship. Mueller, who found success through much of the season, celebrated in victory circle an impressive five times. He started the year strong with a win in the first of the Miller Lite Twin 75’s and continued to prove his strength with wins in the Bob Fish Alan Kulwicki Memorial event, the Al Schill Jr. Memorial event, where he was the first repeat winner, the Keith’s Marina 4th of July Special and the Port A John Labor Day Special. Mueller also collected two fast dash trophies, seven fast times and a Coca Cola Triple Crown Championship in 2003. In a poignant speech, which included praise to his loyal crew members, Mueller encouraged those in attendance to appreciate the challenge and history found on the high banks of Slinger Super Speedway.

Moving up one spot from his 2002 finish, veteran driver Al Schill continued his successful racing career as the Late Model division runner-up. Schill enjoyed 13 top fives, two wins in the dash and an impressive four feature wins in 2003, including wins in the big E.H. Wolf Memorial Day special and Boucher, Coca Cola and Johnsonville Foods events. Lowell Bennett completed the year in third place with ten top fives and two wins. Rounding out the top five in the Late Model division were David Prunty and Eric Fransen, respectively.

Several special awards were also handed out in the Late Model division. Ryan Mathews was honored as the Late Model division Rookie of the Year. His debut year at Slinger Super Speedway resulted in a 14th place finish in overall standings. This year’s Hard Luck Award was presented to Dave Teske for being collected in several crashes over the course of the season. Honored for their positive attitudes and great looking uniforms, this year’s Best Crew Award was given to members of the #92 team, driven by 16-year old Travis Dassow.

Dale Prunty dominated the Eldorado Trailer Sales Midwest Modified division in 2003, earning the track championship in the division with the most fast times, nine to be exact, three fast dash victories and six feature wins over the course of the season. Moving up from his 2002 4th place overall finish, Wes Biswell was honored as the Eldorado Trailer Sales Midwest Modified runner-up. Finishing third place in the division was Larry Reihbrandt. Rick Ottman enjoyed two feature wins in 2003, resulting in an overall 4th place finish in the Modified division.

Two special awards were presented in the Eldorado Trailer Sales Modified division, with this year’s Hard Luck Award going to Rick Ottman and Rookie of the Year honors given to Steven Schulz.

The new Midwest Sportsman division, which replaced the Slinger Stinger division in 2003, honored second through fifth place drivers, including Mike Graczkowski (5th place overall), Pat McIntee (4th place overall), Josh Bauer (3rd place overall) and Scott Ascher (2nd place overall). Special recognition was given to Nick Schumacher for his many achievements in the Midwest Sportsman division throughout the 2003 race season.

Mark Ritger captured his seventh championship in the Figure 8’s division in 2003. Ritger was honored along with the remaining top five competitors in the division, Scott Goetzke, Shane Becker, Samuel Wright and Willy VanCamp.

In other speedway competition, several awards were given to successful competitors. The top three victorious drivers in the Slinger Bees division, Aaron Cain, Dave Berndt and Joe Destefano Jr., received honors at the banquet, along with Mark Fogel and Eric Schmitz for having won the most Team Cruiser events in 2003.

In 2004, the Team Cruiser division will be replaced with the Thunder Stock division. Rules are now available for this and all divisions of speedway competition. Any questions pertaining to next year’s on-track activity may be directed towards speedway personnel. Drivers are reminded to register their car numbers with the track for the 2004 season.

The Slinger Super Speedway 2004 racing season kicks off Sunday afternoon, April 18, 2004 with the Miller Lite Twin 75’s. On Saturday, April 17, 2004 fans get a season preview as representatives from all divisions take to the track for the speedway’s annual practice day. General admission on practice day is free for all fans.