logosm.gif (6163 bytes)

Loch Locks in Victory in Coca-Cola Triple Crown Classic Round Two!
By Weyer / Margetta

June 2, 2002; Slinger, WI - Rich Loch led from start to finish to score a dominating win in the 60-lap late model feature that made up the second round of the Coca-Cola Triple Crown Classic presented by Mobil Sunday night at the Slinger Super Speedway.

Photo Highlights

5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
Rich Loch (#55) topped round two of the Coca-Cola Triple Crown Classic presented by Mobil.  It was the first win of the season in Super Late Model action for Loch.

5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
Rich Loch (#55) gets the jump on Larry Los (#9) at the start of the 60 lap Late Model feature.  Loch would capture the victory this evening.
5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
A good battle for top honors in the Super Late Model dash took place between Dan Mills (#24) and Dave Teske (#51).   Teske would take the win.
5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
Defending champion Lowell Bennett (#2) stopped Conrad Morgan';s stranglehold on fast qualifying honors when he earned quick time this week.
5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
Rice Saegert (#17) won the Late Model consolation event this evening.
5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
Dan Jung (#18) came home a winner this evening topping the Midwest Modified main event.
5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
It was a battle that kept fans on their feet as Dan Jung (#18) and Wes Biswell (#23) fought for the top spot in the Midwest Modified feature.  Jung would take the event.
5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
Jeff Holtz (#91) was the fast qualifier this evening in Midwest Modified action.
5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
Dave Obermeyer (#93) earned his first checkered flag when he won the Slinger Stinger dash race.

Loch took the green flag from the pole position and used the inside lane to grab the led with fellow front row starter Larry Los racing alongside in second. With the field still racing in a tight two-by-two formation, incidental contact between the cars in the inside line caused them to slow momentarily on lap six and the chain-reaction accordion-like effect resulted in Conrad Morgan spinning into the infield. The race remained under green with Loch continuing to lead over Los as David Prunty moved into third by lap ten with Lowell Bennett, Dave Teske, Al Schill, and Eric Peterson following.

Loch began to stretch out his lead while Los worked the outside lane to hold off Prunty and Bennett for second. Los held his ground on the outside until lap 22 when Prunty was able to push by on the inside and bring Bennett with him into third. Loch maintained his comfortable lead by lap 25 when Bennett passed Prunty for second place and his sizeable lead was nearly erased when Peterson spun in turn one after racing hard for position with Eric Fransen.

Loch led at the halfway mark to claim the $100 Mac Tools Bonus while Bennett and Prunty tried to cut into his lead that had grown to nearly a full straightaway. Schill passed Teske to take over fourth on lap 43 as the rest of the front running cars remained in single-file formation. Loch was untouchable over the final laps and cruised to the easy win a full straightaway ahead of Bennett and Prunty. Schill finished fourth ahead of Fransen and Donavan Morgan. Teske, Chris Ratajczyk, Jamie Wallace and Dan Mills rounded out the top ten.

“We’ve been getting better and better the last couple of weeks and I’m not going to apologize for winning off the front row, but we had a good car” stated Loch from Victory Lane.

The race was the second of three rounds of the Coca-Cola Triple Crown Classic presented by Mobil and Bennett holds a 31 point lead over Conrad Morgan in the series overall points. Eric Fransen is third while Donavan Morgan and Rich Loch round out the top five in the standings.

In other late model action, Cindy Peterson held off Dennis Prunty and John Zimmerman to win the 30-lap semi-feature and Rick Saegert won the 12-lap consi. Teske won the dash and Bennett was the fastest qualifier with a lap of 11.698 seconds.

Dan Jung took the lead on lap 13 and raced to the win in the 30-lap Midwest modified feature.

Andy Evraets and Lenny Gallenberg started on the front row and battled side-by-side for the lead over the first ten laps. Gallenberg held the inside line and Evraets eventually faded on the outside as Jung and Wes Biswell began to make their way toward the front of the field.

Jung was able to race to the inside of Gallenberg to take the lead on lap 13 and Biswell also made his way around Gallenberg to take second. Jeff Holtz and Dale Prunty made their way into the top five by lap twenty after starting deep in the field.

Jung held onto the lead with ten laps to go and Biswell remained in his tire tracks with Holtz closing fast in third. Holtz was able to catch the lead duo and when he challenged Biswell for second on the final lap, Jung’s victory was secured. Jung took the win as Holtz edged Biswell for second. Prunty finished fourth and Gallenberg was fifth.

Jung also won the dash and Holtz was the fastest qualifier at 12.519 seconds.

Scott Shambeau won the 20-lap Slinger Stinger feature over Paul Wagner and Pat McIntee.

Shambeau started the event from the outside of the second row and quickly moved into third behind Jimmy Littrell and Jimmie Evans. Evans slide wide exiting turn two causing the inside line to check up which allowed Shambeau to move up and challenge Littrell for the lead. Shambeau took the lead on lap ten as Wagner and McIntee began to slice their way through traffic and move their way toward the front.

Shambeau maintained his lead over the final laps and took the win with Wagner and McIntee closing in second and third. Littrell finished fourth and Jay Shambeau was fifth after Roger Schmid and Nathan Fick tangled on the final lap while racing among the lead cars.

In other Slinger Stinger action, Dave Obermeyer captured his first checkered flag with a win in the dash and Schmid was the fastest qualifier at 13.822 seconds.

Mark and Ken Fogel won the Team Cruiser event and Jeff Schmidt won the Speedway Guest Car race. The spectator eliminator races and the Figure 8 event were cancelled after a steady rain shower soaked the track and halted the night’s events.

For Complete results from the RACESTAT computer CLICK HERE