logosm.gif (6163 bytes)

Prunty Wins Al Schill Jr. Memorial at Slinger!
By Weyer / Margetta

May 5, 2002; Slinger, WI - David Prunty kicked off the 2002 season at the Slinger Super Speedway Sunday night by scoring the victory in the Al’s Auto Salvage/Champion Chicken/Pro Power Al Schill Jr. Memorial 77-lap late model feature.

Photo Highlights

5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
David Prunty (right) was joined by the Schill family in victory lane after capturing the Al Schill Jr Memorial 77 feature event for the Late Models.
5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
Brothers Battle! David Prunty (#1) slips past brother Dennis Prunty (#42) on his way to winning the Al Schill Jr., Memorial 77 in Late Model feature action.
5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
Jamie Wallace (#87) showed off his sharp looking ride for this season after capturing the Late Model dash.
5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
Cindy Peterson (#36) didn't get her season underway as planned as she was caught up in an accident during the program.
5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
Brad Mueller (#89) shows off his colors for the 2002 season after setting fast time.  Mueller outqualified an amazing field of over 45 Late Models this evening.
5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
Steve Lurvey (#97) captured the opening night feature victory in Midwest Modified competition.
5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
Dale Prunty started off the evening on a good note by setting quick time in the Midwest Modifieds.  However....
5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
...Things did not go as well in the feature as he tangled with Larry Reihbrandt.  The pair were unable to finish the event.
5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
Jason Feyereisen (#90) scored a victory in a Slinger Stinger heat race.

David Prunty crossed the finish line just ahead of Dennis Prunty and the brothers dominated the caution-filled event, as they were the only two drivers to lead the race. Dennis took the green flag from the pole position and launched into the early lead ahead of Todd Thelen, Mike Pascavis, and David.

The yellow flag flew early as on lap six Brad Mueller’s car twitched in turn two and became entangled with Al Schill’s Ford. The contact sent Schill sliding across the track and into the backstretch wall forcing him to make a heartbreaking exit from the event.

The race barely got underway when two laps later Conrad Morgan lost control in turn two and collected Cindy Peterson who, with nowhere to go, crashed into Morgan’s spinning car to produce another caution with Dennis still leading over Thelen and David.

Dennis stretched his lead when the green flag reappeared as David worked to get around Thelen for second while Lowell Bennett and Donavan Morgan fought their way into the top five. David dispatched Thelen for second place on lap 12 and followed Dennis until lap 21 when he pulled alongside in a bid for the lead.

The brothers ran side-by-side for a number of laps before David was able to pull ahead and take command of the event while Bennett raced his way into third. Bennett’s luck ran out on lap 31 when the defending track champion slowed and retired from the race with mechanical problems.

The Prunty brothers extended their advantage on the field to nearly a half lap when Jamie Wallace and Dan Mills got together slightly while entering turn one on lap 34 which forced John Zimmerman to take evasive action toward the outside lane of the speedway. Zimmerman’s car hit the first turn wall and overturned before landing on its wheels as the incident swept up seven more cars to cause the race to come to a halt under the red flag. No one was injured in the mishap but several cars retired to the pits with damage.

The race resumed with David still leading Dennis as Thelen, D. Morgan, and Pascavis battled for third. David led at the halfway mark and claimed the $100 Mac Tools Bonus and shortly thereafter the race was slowed again when Pascavis and Morgan tangled in turn four on lap 39.

The field finally began to settle down once racing resumed as the cars became strung out with David leading Dennis, Thelen, Mueller, and Florian Wisinski. Mueller had his car hooked up well in the late stages of the race but it appeared he would run out of laps before he could challenge the Prunty brothers.

Mueller’s charge toward the front took on new life when Larry Los stalled on lap 74 to produce another caution and set up a three-lap dash to the finish. The Prunty brothers proved to be too strong for Mueller over the final three laps as David led Dennis across the finish line to take the victory. Mueller followed in their tire tracks for third place while Wisinski and Thelen capped off strong runs to finish fourth and fifth respectively. Following the event, Dennis Prunty was disqualified when his car failed to meet the minimum weight requirement during post-race technical inspection.

In other late model action, Chad Barker passed Fred Winn with five laps to go and held on to win the 30-lap semi-feature. Scott Schoeni, Dave Teske, and Austin Konetski rounded out the top five. Lance Bjorklund edged Joe Gross to score the victory in the 15-lap consolation race and Jamie Wallace won the dash. Mueller was the fastest qualifier with a lap of 11.622 seconds.

Steve Lurvey raced into the lead on lap seven and captured the victory in the 30-lap Midwest modified feature.

Ron Schmitt and Russ Grade led the field to the green flag and Schmitt edged ahead to lead the opening lap. Lurvey began the race from the inside of the second row and began to close in on Schmitt and Grade when the caution flag appeared as Larry Reihbrandt and Dale Prunty slid into the third turn wall.

On the restart, Lurvey was on top of his game and quickly moved around Grade and Schmitt to take command of the event. Lurvey continued to hold down the top spot while Schmitt battled with Ed Grober and Wes Biswell as both drivers made their way through traffic to challenge for second. A late caution bunched up the field when fluid on the track caused cars to scatter in the first turn but Lurvey would not be denied and raced to the win ahead of Schmitt and Biswell. Grober finished fourth and Andy Evraets took the checkered flag in fifth place.

In other Midwest modified action, Lurvey also won the dash and Dale Prunty was the fastest qualifier with a time of 12.446 seconds.

Paul Wagner edged Roger Schmid to win the 18-lap Slinger Stinger feature.

Nathan Fick led the opening laps while Jimmy Evans raced with Wagner, Schmid, and Dave Obermeyer for the second through fifth positions. Obermeyer faded and Evans produced a red flag on lap ten when he hit the fourth turn wall, broke an axle, and lost a wheel. Fick led on the restart as Schmid, Wagner, and Pat McIntee began to close in and challenge for the lead. Schmid took the lead on lap 15 but lost it to Wagner two laps later. Wagner was able to hold off Schmid for the win with McIntee finishing third. Jay Shambeau and Fick rounded out the top five.

The Slinger Stinger dash was won by Jason Feyereisen in a photo finish over Joe DeStefano.

Mark and Ken Fogel won the Team Cruiser race and Jasper Drengler captured the win in the Slinger Bees debut event. Tom Elsinger won the Spectator Elimination races in his Corvette and Shane Becker was the winner of the Figure 8 event.

For Complete results from the RACESTAT computer CLICK HERE