logosm.gif (6163 bytes)

Top Drivers Scheduled to Attend The Miller Lite Nationals at Slinger!
By Weyer / Margetta

July 17, 2002; Slinger, WI - The 23rd Annual Miller Lite Nationals late model special is set for Tuesday night, July 23, at the Slinger Super Speedway.

An annual Slinger tradition since 1980, the Miller Lite Nationals is one of the most prestigious late model events in the country featuring many NASCAR stars and the best Midwest short track drivers in a 200 lap late model feature. The Midwest Modifieds will also support the Miller Lite Nationals as they take on the high banked oval.

NASCAR Winston Cup stars Matt Kenseth and Ken Schrader head a list of visiting drivers that includes Dick Trickle, Rich Bickle, Scott Hansen, and Scott Wimmer as they compete against the best short track drivers in the Midwest in the 200 lap main event.

Defending Miller Lite Nationals champion David Prunty returns to defend his title, bringing with him such local standouts as three-time and defending Slinger Speedway champion Lowell Bennett, six-time track champion Conrad Morgan, and five-time track champion Al Schill.

Kenseth, the 1994 Miller Lite Nationals champion, was the 2000 NASCAR Winston Cup Rookie of the Year and has four NASCAR Winston cup victories to his credit, three of those coming this year at Rockingham, Texas, and Michigan. Kenseth’s career highlights include seven NASCAR Busch Grand National Series victories and over 46 super late model checkered flags. The Cambridge, Wisconsin native returns to race at the World’s Fastest Mile Oval, where he won many feature races and was Rookie of the Year in 1991.

Trickle, who’s 1200 plus race wins in nearly 40 years of competition has earned him the title of the “Winningest Stock Car Driver in America,” will be looking for his record setting fifth Nationals title, having won the Nationals in 1982, 1983, 1985, and 1989. Trickle has achieved legendary status by winning in every series he has competed in including ARTGO, ASA, and NASCAR. Trickle will be behind the wheel of a car prepared by Conrad Morgan, a six-time Slinger track champion.

Schrader is currently in his 18th season on the NASCAR Winston Cup circuit and is best known for his desire to race just about anything that has wheels. The Miller Lite Nationals are part of a busy schedule that will find Schrader racing stock cars, sprints, and midgets, on many asphalt and dirt tracks across the country. Schrader has tallied four NASCAR Winston Cup victories in his career and was the 1985 NASCAR Winston Cup Rookie-of-the-Year. Schrader has always been competitive at Slinger and even scored a Nationals feature win in 1994.

Bickle lists Slinger Super Speedway as his favorite of the 169 short tracks that he has raced on in his career. He currently drives the #15 Ford on the NASCAR Craftsmen Truck Series and has raced in the NASCAR Winston Cup and Busch Grand National Series as well. Bickle boasts two Miller Lite Nationals titles to his credit, taking the overall title in 1992 and 1996. Always a front-runner at Slinger, Bickle was the 1989 track champion and will drive car prepared by five-time track champion Al Schill in the 2002 Miller Lite Nationals.

Wimmer has scored five top-five finishes while driving for Bill Davis Racing on the NASCAR Busch Grand National Series and recently announced plans to compete on the NASCAR Winston Cup tour during the season’s second half. Wimmer also has two victories on the ASA tour and was the 1997 Rookie-of-the-Year in the Hooter’s Cup late model division. Wimmer has had many strong runs in past Miller Lite Nationals events and enters the 2002 version seeking his first overall title.

Hansen has raced in the NASCAR Busch Grand National and Craftsmen Truck Series and has also posted many victories in ASA competition, taking Rookie-of-the-Year honors in that series in 1989. Hansen has also won on the NASCAR RE/MAX Challenge Series and was a standout on the old ARTGO circuit. Hansen comes into the 2002 Miller Lite Nationals seeking his first overall title.

Trickle leads all drivers with a total of four Miller Lite Nationals wins and past champions of the high profile event include such legendary drivers as Alan Kulwicki, Mark Martin, and Joe Shear, making the Nationals title one of the most highly sought after crowns in the state.

Advance tickets for the Miller Lite Nationals are currently on sale at the track office and Pioneer Plaza in Richfield. Advance tickets can also be charged by phone by calling (262) 644-5921. Fans purchasing advance tickets will save $3 off the regular admission price and children ages nine and under will be admitted free when accompanied by an adult. Advance tickets for the Miller Lite Nationals will be on sale until 5pm Monday, July 22nd.

Spectator gates for the 23rd Annual Miller Lite Nationals open at 3 p.m., qualifying races start at 4:30 p.m. and an autograph session to follow with racing events to begin around 7 pm. The Slinger Super Speedway is located mile West of Highway 41 on Highway 144 in Slinger. For more information, call the track office during normal business hours M-F 9-5 at (262) 644-5921 or check out the track website at www.slingersuperspeedway.com