logosm.gif (6163 bytes)

Loch Wins Again at Slinger!
By Weyer / Margetta

July 7, 2002; Slinger, WI - Rich Loch posted his second victory of the season in dominating fashion by winning the Pioneer Plaza Mid-Season Championship 65-lap late model feature Sunday night at the Slinger Super Speedway.

Photo Highlights

5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
Rich Loch (#55) salutes the crowd after topping the Pioneer Plaza Mid-Season Championship Late Model feature contest.

5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
Austin Konetski (#13) had the unfortunate distinction of being first to retire from the Late Model feature when his car began leaving a trail of sparks.
5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
Defending track champion Lowell Bennett (#2) grabbed fast qualifying honors this evening in the Late Model division.
5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
Dan Jung (#18) captured the Eldorado Trailer Sales Trophy Dash for the Midwest Modifieds, and would later win the main event.
5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
Setting fast time in the Midwest Modifieds was Wes Biswell (#23), who later took third in the main event.
5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
Mark and Ken Fogel have proven to be tough to beat in 2-Man Cruiser action this season at Slinger Super Speedway.
5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
Looking to go racing affordably? You may wish to check out the Slinger Bees.  These 4 cylinder cars are an inexpensive way to go racing on the World's Fastest 1/4 Mile paved oval.

“It’s something about starting up front here,” stated Loch who began the race from the outside of the front row and led every lap. “It seems like every time we end up having a bad effort in qualifying, we have a really good car.”

Chris Petersen led the field to the green flag, but it was Loch and Dave Teske who shot into the front two positions, leaving Petersen to race for third with David Prunty and Chris Ratajczyk. Loch and Teske stretched out their advantage, as the bottom groove was the preferred line and the top ten drivers all raced nose-to-tail on the inside. Petersen got caught on the outside and began to fade by lap 20, taking Prunty back a few spots with him as Ratajczyk and Donavan Morgan took the third and fourth positions. Five laps later, Morgan’s car began to sour and he fell out of the event leaving Prunty to retake fourth and bringing Lowell Bennett into fifth.

Loch led at the halfway point and collected the $100 Mac Tools Halfway Bonus as the top five drivers remained in line. Bennett passed Prunty to take fourth on lap 35 as Loch maintained nearly a half lap lead over Teske and Ratajczyk.

As Loch stayed comfortably in front, Bennett chased down Ratajczyk and took over third on lap 50. Loch’s big lead nearly was erased on lap 53 when Prunty spun in turn four while running in the top five. Prunty kept on going after spinning and the race remained under green. Bennett was able to pass Teske for second but could not get anywhere near Loch, who captured the win by a half lap. Teske finished third followed by Eric Fransen and Conrad Morgan.

John Zimmerman won the 30-lap semi-feature over Scott Schoeni and Randy Schuler and Toby Rott was the winner of the 12-lap consolation race. Lowell Bennett set fast time at 11.775 seconds while Dave Teske won the Mac Tools Trophy Dash.

Dan Jung won the 30-lap Midwest modified feature and gained points on point leader Dale Prunty, who experienced mechanical problems and did not finish the event.

Russ Grade led the first eight laps before giving way to Mike Graczkowski as Jeff Holtz, Wes Biswell, and Jung advanced through traffic and into the top five. Jung took over second place on lap 15 and Holtz and Biswell followed him to nail down the third and fourth positions. Greg Legate spun on lap 20 to bring out the caution flag with Graczkowski leading Jung, Holtz, and Biswell.

It took Jung two laps to get around Graczkowski for the lead as Holtz and Biswell also made their way by for second and third. Holtz and Biswell remained in Jung’s tire tracks as the laps wound down but any chance they had at challenging Jung was negated when they got together on the backstretch and jammed up the field. Jung took the win while Holtz was able to make it around for second ahead of Biswell and Graczkowski. Grade was fifth.

Dan Jung won the fast dash while Wes Biswell set fast time with a 12.618 second.

Jay Shambeau appeared to win an eventful Slinger stinger feature that had its share of action and eventually ended up with no official winner.

Joe DeStefano Sr. led the beginning laps and was pressured by Dave Obermeyer while the rest of the field ran in a tight pack and raced in two by two formation for positions behind the lead duo. Jay Shambeau bolted out of the pack and took the top spot as DeStefano faded back a bit. Obermeyer held onto second place and worked the bottom of the racetrack while Shambeau kept his car wound up on the outside and fended off Obermeyer’s many challenges.

Obermeyer nosed to the inside of Shambeau on lap 12 but his car kicked loose exiting turn two and spun down the backstretch. Obermeyer’s car came to rest against traffic entering turn three and was hit three times as the field scattered in attempt to avoid him. The resulting collision brought out the red flag as Obermeyer was cut from his car and transported to a local hospital for precautionary reasons after he complained of back pain. Obermeyer was released later in the evening and was sore but otherwise uninjured.

Shambeau held the lead for the restart but had his hands full with Wagner, DeStefano, and David Pichler. All four drivers raced in a tight bunch for the lead when the race was slowed again when Franklin Baxter hit the wall in turn two. As the race got back underway for the final laps, Shambeau led Wagner and Pichler to the white flag. Shambeau’s car slid loose coming out of turn four allowing Wagner to make a move on the inside.

The two cars made contact while racing to the line and Shambeau held on to cross the finish line first by less than a car length over Wagner. Pichler was third and DeStefano finished fourth. After the event, Shambeau refused to participate in the post-race technical inspection, drawing a disqualification and leaving the race with no official winner.

David Pichler set fast time at 13.589 seconds while Roger Schmid won the fast dash.

Mark and Ken Fogel won the team cruiser race and Ron Kosciesza won the Slinger Bees event. Greg Wojcik was the winner in the Speedway Guest cars and the Figure 8 event was cut short after an incident necessitating a lengthy clean up resulted in the event being cancelled.

For Complete results from the RACESTAT computer CLICK HERE