logosm.gif (6163 bytes)

Bennett Captures the Uptown Automotive Miller Lite Rusty Wallace Special At Slinger!!
By Weyer / Margetta

June 11, 2002; Slinger, WI - Lowell Bennett won his second late model feature of the season at Slinger Super Speedway when he captured the 75-lap Miller Lite Rusty Wallace Special presented by Uptown Automotive Tuesday night.

Photo Highlights

5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
Rusty Wallace (second from left) gather with track manager Rodney Erickson (second from right) and track owner Wayne Erickson (right) prior to the start of the evenings events.

5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
Rusty Wallace took time to sign autographs for many of the fans during the evening.
5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
Lowell Bennett (#2) nailed down his second Late Model feature victory of the year by topping the Rusty Wallace Special 75.
5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
Lowell Bennett (#2) dives to the inside of Conrad Morgan (#92) for the lead during the closing laps of the Rusty Wallace 75 late model feature race. Bennett would go on to take the win.
5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
Donavan Morgan (#99) topped the MAC Tools trophy dash this evening in Late Model action.
5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
Dale Prunty (#17) the current Midwest Modified point leader captured the feature contest this evening. 
5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
It was a hard fought battle for the lead in the Midwest Modified main event, as Dale Prunty (#17) and Mike Graczkowski (#2) duel for the lead.

5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
Jeff Holtz (#91) has made a habit of capturing quick time in the Midwest Modifieds, doing so again this evening.

5901a.jpg (13981 bytes)
Ron Schmitt (#6) grabbed his first dash victory of the season in the Midwest Modified class.

Bennett waited until the later stages of the event to make his charge toward the front as he passed Conrad Morgan to take the lead on lap 57 and then held off the six-time track champion to secure the win.

“Could it be anything other than the #2 car tonight?” asked Bennett afterwards in reference to NASCAR Winston Cup driver Rusty Wallace who was on hand to sign autographs and like Bennett also drives a car #2. “I have the most fun racing with Conrad. We’ve run so many laps together here and we had a heck of a good time tonight.”

Joe Gross and Mike Egan paced the field to the green flag and Egan immediately jumped into the lead on the opening lap. Egan and Gross put some distance between themselves and the third place battle between Mike Pascavis and Jamie Wallace.

Morgan, David Prunty, Bennett, and Donavan Morgan all found themselves entrenched in a tight pack behind the side-by-side race for third between Pascavis and Wallace as Egan and Gross continued to race nose-to-tail out front. Conrad managed to break through the pack on lap 25, taking third from Wallace and immediately moving to the outside of Gross for second. Gross was turning in his best performance of the season and he fought hard with Morgan for second while Egan retained his position at the head of the pack.

Morgan finally powered by Gross on the outside to grab second on lap 35 just before the only caution flag of the event waved when defending race winner Rich Loch and Tom Hromadka spun in turn four. Egan led Morgan as the race resumed and kept the top spot at the halfway mark to collect the $100 Mac Tools Halfway Bonus. Morgan was able to ease alongside Egan on lap 41 as Bennett worked his way into third just ahead of Donavan Morgan and Gross.

One lap later, Conrad was out front with Bennett also using the outside lane to challenge Egan for second. Bennett completed the pass on lap 45 and worked on catching Morgan for the lead. The lead cars put some space between themselves and the rest of the field by lap 55 when Bennett made his bid for the lead. Bennett ran Morgan hard into the first turn on lap 57 and when the Waukesha veteran pushed up in the middle of the corner, Bennett dove to the inside and took command of the event.

The leaders encountered lapped traffic over the final laps and while Morgan was able to stay in Bennett’s tire tracks, he couldn’t make a serious challenge for the lead as Bennett took the win by about two car lengths. Donavan Morgan followed his father across the finish line to take third while Cindy Peterson was fourth. Egan wrapped up his strong performance with a fifth place finish.

In other late model action, Lance Bjorklund won the 30-lap semi-feature over Scott Schoeni and Larry Los. Donavan Morgan won the dash and Bennett was the fastest qualifier with a lap of 11.758 seconds.

Dale Prunty continued his winning ways in the Midwest modified division as he took top honors in the 30-lap feature.

Russ Grade and Andy Evraets held the top two positions in the beginning stages of the race while Prunty raced with Mike Graczkowski and Dan Miller for third. Prunty took over third by lap ten and a few laps later, the Allenton driver raced around Evraets for second as Grade continued to lead. Prunty motored around Grade at the halfway point to take the lead while Graczkowski, Evraets, Miller, and Dan Jung staged their own fight for third.

Graczkowski came out on top of the battle and by lap 25, worked his way past Grade for second. One lap later, Grade spun while running third allowing Evraets, Jung, and Miller to move up as the race remained under the green flag. Prunty proved to be too strong for Graczkowski as he took the victory, his third of the season. Graczkowski finished second and Evraets was third. Jung and Miller completed the top five.

In other Midwest modified action, Ron Schmitt won his first fast dash of the season and Jeff Holtz led qualifying with a lap of 12.637 seconds.

Paul Wagner scored a convincing win in the 20-lap Slinger stinger feature.

Wagner started the event from the third position and by lap five was well out in front of the field while Todd Gehring and Joseph Osterman battled for second ahead of James Littrell and Jason Feyereisen. Gehring eventually took sole possession of second place and followed Wagner as the lead cars stretched out their advantage on the rest of the field.

Wagner was never challenged as he captured the win but Gehring spun in turn four on the final lap and lost second place to Pat McIntee. Gehring was able to back his car across the line just ahead of Feyereisen to be credited with a third place finish. Feyereisen was fourth and David Pichler was fifth.

Wagner won the dash and McIntee was the fastest qualifier after turning a lap of 13.636 seconds.

Jack Sutherland won the Figure 8 race and Joe DeStefano Sr. drove his Camaro to the win in the Spectator Eliminator races.

Daryl and Craig Adams appeared to win the team cruiser event after a multi-car incident slowed many of the lead cars on the final lap, but they failed post-race technical inspection and were disqualified leaving the event with no official winner.

For Complete results from the RACESTAT computer CLICK HERE