Peterson Cruises to Victory in the 76 Racing/ Kreuger Entertainment 65 at Slinger!
By Weyer / Margetta

August 13, 2000; Slinger, WI - Cindy Peterson started on the pole and led every lap to win her second late model feature of the year in the 76 Racing/Krueger's Entertainment Center 65 Sunday night at the Slinger Super Speedway. "It's been a long time since I won two (features) in one year," said Peterson afterwards. "It helps when you start up front but I'll take a win any way I can."

81300c.jpg (19696 bytes) Cindy Peterson (#36) earned her second Late Model feature win of the season when she topped the 76 Racing/Kreuger's Entertainment Center 65 this evening.  Peterson pulled out to a huge lead on her nearest competitor Eric Fransen to earn the win.

Peterson and Chris Ratajczyk separated themselves at the start of the event as the field became bottle-necked behind the side by side battle for third between Charlie Thon Jr. and Dan Mills.  The third place battle produced a red flag on lap six when Thon and Mills became tangled while exiting turn two and both cars scraped along the backstretch wall with Mills' car coming to rest on it's side, pinned against the wall by Thon's car. The incident also collected the cars of Mike Egan and Al Schill.

81300d.jpg (15971 bytes) 81300e.jpg (18906 bytes)
The dilemma!   How to unhook these cars! Dan Mills (#24) and Charlie Thon Jr. (#02) got together during the opening laps of the Late Model feature.  Mills car climbed the wall and landed atop Thon's machine.  Safety crews were able to remove both machines without further damage to either car.  Neither driver was injured in the incident but both were done for the night!

The yellow flag flew again on the restart as the field came up to speed to take the green flag and the accordion-type effect resulted in Schill, John Mueller, and David Prunty coming together in turn four.  Schill and Mueller were able to return to the race but Prunty's machine sustained heavy damage and was forced to retire from the event.

81300a.jpg (16572 bytes) A knack for the dash!  Todd Thelen (#32) scored his third Mac Tools Late Model dash win of the season.  Thelen would also run to a solid fifth place showing in the feature rounding out a successful evening on the World's Fastest Quarter-Mile Paved Oval.

Peterson distanced herself from the rest of the field on the ensuing green flag as Ratajczyk tried to hold off Brad Mueller, Eric Fransen, and Todd Thelen for second.  Ratajczyk faded in the outside groove as Mueller and Fransen raced by leaving Conrad Morgan and Thelen  to move into fourth and fifth.

Peterson stretched out her lead to a quarter lap as fog began to move in on the speedway.  The fog did not pose a problem to the drivers as remained unchanged until lap 60 when Fransen was able to work his way around Mueller for second. At the checkered flag Peterson took the win a half lap ahead of Fransen and Mueller. Morgan and Thelen rounded out the top five and Lowell Bennett finished sixth driving John Zimmerman's car after experiencing mechanical problems with his own ride.

The Rocket!!  Rich "The Rocket" Loch (#55) bested a field of 43 Late Models this evening with a 11.699 Second tour of the high-banked quarter-mile to set fast qualifying honors.   Loch would later crack the top 10 in the main event with a eighth place finish. 81300b.jpg (20368 bytes)

Florian Wisinski held off Bennett to win the 30 lap late model feature and Russ Peterson won the consi.  Thelen was the winner of the dash and Rich Loch was the fastest qualifier at 11.699 seconds.

81300f.jpg (15339 bytes)

A career first! Alan Keppert (#7) scored his first career Midwest Modified feature win.

Alan Keppert won his first career Midwest Modified feature by holding off Ed Grober and Larry Reihbrandt.  Grober held the early lead over Tom King, Roger Wittal, and Keppert before the only caution of the race occurred on lap eight for an incident on the frontstretch between Lenny Gallenberg III and Mike Cayton.

Current point leader Dennis Prunty became collected in the mishap and retired from the event. Grober held the lead on the restart and kept the top spot until lap 12 when Keppert raced by.  Keppert held on to score his first ever feature win over Grober as Reihbrandt held off Brian Holtz for third.  Chris Petersen finished fifth.

Mike Held outraced Dave Wolf and Dan Miller to win the 12 lap Midwest Modified semi-feature and Holtz was the winner of the dash.  Dale Prunty set fast time with a lap of 12.602 seconds.

Brad Hartman ran away with the Slinger Stinger 18 lap feature for his second win of the season.  David Beck finished second just ahead of Aaron Bitzan and Bill Shavlik. Rich Wagner took the fifth position as Scott Ascher tagged the wall while racing for position in the tightly bunched pack.  Hartman led every lap of the race and collected the $95.00 A.P.C. Halfway and Feature
win Bouns.

81300g.jpg (15239 bytes) 81300h.jpg (14451 bytes)
It's an honor reserved only for the fastest drivers in each division.  Each week those fast qualifiers get to carry the American flag during the National Anthem which opens the program.  In the left photo that honor went to Dale Prunty (#17) in the Midwest Modifieds and Bill Shavlik (#1) in the Slinger Stingers.

Wisconsin's Pat Burba won the special Super Mini-Cup feature. Mike Newlin won the Figure 8 race and the team of Mark and Dan Jung was victorious in the Team Cruiser event.  Ken Leckill was the winner in the Speedway Guest Cars and P.J. Cain won the Spectator Race.

For Complete results from the RACESTAT computer  CLICK HERE

lbar.jpg (1882 bytes)lbar.jpg (1882 bytes)lbar.jpg (1882 bytes)

Mobil presents the Coca-Cola Triple Crown Classic this Sunday at the Slinger Super Speedway!
By Weyer / Margetta

Special; Slinger, WI -   This Sunday night, August 20th, Mobil presents Round Three of the Coca-Cola Triple Crown Classic at the Slinger Super Speedway. The evening, which will be highlighted by twin 50 lap late model features for no increase in admission along with a full racing program in all seven divisions, is the third and final round of the Coca-Cola Triple Crown Classic, a series of three events scheduled throughout the year for late model drivers.

Kids 12 and under in attendance are eligible to participate in the Coca-Cola 500 Big Wheel races  and will also be eligible for a drawing for a free bicycle to be given away at intermission. Fans in attendance at the Slinger Super Speedway are eligible for the season long giveaways where prizes such as a TV, trip to Las Vegas, and a 2000 GMC truck will be awarded on September 17th.
Spectator gates open at 4:45 p.m. with time trials at 5:15 p.m. and racing set to begin at 7 p.m.

Spectators can race on the Worlds fastest 1/4 mile high banked oval in one of the Speedway Guest Cars  provided by the track. Entries are now being accepted for the Spectator 200 Enduro and Mini-Amtrak Race set for September 24th. The starting line-up for the enduro is determined by the order in which entry forms are received at the speedway.

The Slinger Super Speedway and Potawatomi Bingo and Casino are proud to present a special Bingo Bus on August 29th and 30th from the track to the casino. The bus will leave at 11 a.m. each day and return to the track at 5 p.m. All participants will receive a free bus ride  and a $5 matchplay
coupon to use at the casino. To reserve your spot on the bus call the track office at the above number.

For more information on the Speedway Guest Cars, the Spectator 200 Enduro, Mini-Amtrak Race, and to reserve a seat on the Bingo Bus, call the Slinger Speedway track office during normal business hours at (262) 644-5921. Fans can also keep up to date with the latest happenings at the Slinger Speedway with the new website at