Strupp Scores Third Feature Win of Season
at Slinger Speedway!

By Daryl Schultz

June 27, 1999; Slinger, WI -  Veterans battle for the win of the Enders Corporation / Miss Slinger Speedway Pageant 75, Sunday night, June 27th, as Tony Strupp (West Bend) holds off Conrad Morgan (Waukesha) to claim the checkered at the Slinger Super Speedway.

The long time rivals put on a spectacular show as the one and only caution flag flew just four laps from the finish of the 75 lap late model feature. The break in the action put Morgan on the rear deck of the Strupp car for a shoot out to take home the first place hardware. Strupp stood on it and separated himself from the two time defending track champion coming to the green. Morgan pulled to the outside of the leader as they accepted the white flag and made a bid to overtake in turn 3. Morgan’s car slipped just slightly coming off 4 allowing Strupp to the finish line one car length in front of the current points leader. Following Strupp and Morgan to the line was Toby Rott (Slinger), Cindy Peterson (Butler) and Lowell Bennett (Neenah) in the top five.

Strupp dominated the majority of the race and took over the lead on lap 12, after starting inside row three. He would lead the remainder of the race, but knew the number 92 of Morgan had him in his sights as he reached lap 60. The last thing Strupp wanted to see was the yellow. His car proved too strong on this night however, as he recorded his third feature win of the year.

The race for third and fourth was also hotly contested between teammates Rott and Peterson. Peterson moved up from her twelfth starting position and into the top five just over the halfway point. She would pull up to the rear of Rott prior to the caution but would have to settle for fourth.

In the post race interview, Strupp admitted his pit crew radioed to him that Morgan was coming about lap 60. Strupp continued, “He’s (Morgan) pretty tough, I’m glad I could beat him once. We had bad luck last week, so this makes up for it, I guess.” Jeff Holtz (Franklin) took home the checkered in the late model semi feature. Holtz, who started outside row three, placed himself ahead of the pack with a two second cushion by the half way point of the 30 lap semi. Scott Schoeni (Slinger) finished second and earned a transfer position, along with Holtz into the feature event. Rounding out the top five was Dave Teske (Menomonee Falls) in third, Chris Ratajczyk (Menomonee Falls) in fourth, and Randy Schuler (Mequon) in fifth.

Scott Applin (Milwaukee) won the 15 lap consi race after the top two drivers encountered problems on the last lap. Second place turned leader Johnny “Cha Cha” Carrao around in the backstretch as the two were coming to the checkered. As a result both cars involved were sent to the rear giving Applin the win and the transfer into the semi. John Zimmerman (Markesan) bested the 8 cars in the 8 lap Mac Tools Trophy Dash and Morgan turned fast time with a lap of 11.676 seconds on the “World’s Fastest 1/4 Mile Oval”.

Steve Lurvey (Dousman) took command of the Midwest Modified feature at the drop of the green flag and crossed the line with a four car length advantage over second place. The competition was fierce behind him as the second thru fourth place cars of Larry Reihbrandt (Wauwatosa), Florian Wisinski (Greenfield), and Dennis Prunty (Allenton) were all nose to tail as they came to the checkered. Reihbrandt nosed ahead of Wisinski for second, while Prunty was relegated to fourth. The win would move Lurvey into the fifth position in the overall points battle as the pack is still trailing Wisinski, who is dominating on a nightly basis in the division.

Chris Peterson (Cedarburg) won the 8 lap Eldorado Trailer Sales Trophy Dash and Wisinski was the fastest qualifier again, with a lap of 12.550 seconds.

Michael Flairty (Jackson) recorded his first ever feature win on the high banked oval of Slinger Speedway on the last Sunday night of June. Dan Miller (Sussex) appeared to be the man to spoil Flairty’s victory, as he worked his way through traffic and caught the eventual winner at the end of the 16 lap main for the Stingers. Flairty kept him at bay at the finish, giving Miller second. Rounding out the top five were Peter Wiedmeyer (West Bend), Roger Schmid (Stone Bank), and Dan Prunty.

Mike Pascavis (Sheboygan) and Mike Graczkowski (Jackson) were each heat winners and Wiedmeyer was fast qualifier with a lap of 13.654 seconds.

Chris Price won his first Figure 8 feature of the 1999 season as he held on to win the 3-way dogfight at the finish line of the 10 lap event.

Mark and Ken Fogel won the Team Cruiser division, Dave Koene won the Speedway Guest Cars division, and Mark Winter won the Spectator Elimination races.

Results Summary


1. Tony Strupp (West Bend) 13. Jeff Kendall (Montello)
2. Conrad Morgan (Waukesha) 14. Mike Strupp (Theresa)
3. Toby Rott (Slinger) 15. Chad Barker (Caladonia)
4. Cindy Peterson (Butler) 16. Charlie Thon Jr. (Germantown)
5. Lowell Bennett (Neenah) 17. Jeff Holtz (Franklin)
6. Al Schill (Franklin)Rich Loch (Muskego) 18. Mike Egan (Slinger)
7. David Prunty (Lomira) 19. Fred Winn (Milwaukee)
8. Eric Fransen (Slinger) 20. Todd Thelen (Oconomowoc)
9. Donavan Morgan (Oconomowoc) 21. Scott Schoeni (Slinger)
10. Jamie Wallace (Pell Lake) 22. Tom Hromadka (Brookfield)
11. John Zimmerman (Markesan)
12. Rich Loch (Muskego)

FAST QUALIFIER - Conrad Morgan (Waukesha) - 11.676 seconds
FAST DASH - John Zimmerman (Markesan) - 8 laps


1. Jeff Holtz (Franklin) 4. Chris Ratajczyk (Menomonee Falls)
2. Scott Schoeni (Slinger) 5. Randy Schuler (Mequon)
3. Dave Teske (Menomonee Falls)


1. Scott Applin (Milwaukee) 4. Joel Sager (Slinger)
2. Dean Gagliano (Brookfield) 5. John Corrar (Campbellsport)
3. Lance Bjorklund (Oconomowoc)


1. Steve Lurvey (Dousman) 4. Dennis Prunty (Allenton)
2. Larry Reihbrandt (Wauwatosa) 5. Al Schill (Franklin)
3. Florian Wisinski (Greenfield)

FAST QUALIFIER - Florian Wisinski (Greenfield) - 12.550 seconds
FAST DASH - Chris Peterson (Cedarburg) - 8 laps


1. Michael Flairty (Jackson) 4. Roger Schmid (Stone Bank)
2. Dan Miller (Sussex) 5. Dan Prunty
3. Peter Wiedmeyer (West Bend)

FAST QUALIFIER - Peter Wiedmeyer (West Bend) -13.654 seconds
HEAT 1 - Mike Pascavis (Sheboygan) - 8 laps
HEAT 2 - Mike Graczkowski (Jackson) - 8 laps

FIGURE 8 WINNER - Chris Price - 10 laps

TEAM CRUISERS - Mark and Ken Fogel - 10 laps

SPEEDWAY GUEST CARS - Dave Koene - 8 laps

SPECTATOR RACE - Mark Winter (Madison)