Strupp earns victory in 1999 Race for Life!
By Daryl Schultz

June 13, 1999; Slinger, WI -  The 1999 Race for Life victory went to Tony Strupp (West Bend) Sunday night, June 13th, at the Slinger Super Speedway. Strupp took the checkered flag less than two car lengths ahead of second place, Lowell Bennett (Neenah), in the 60 lap late model feature. The top five was rounded out with Toby Rott (Slinger) third, and a side by side battle between Eric Fransen (Slinger) and Brad Mueller (Random Lake) with Fransen barely edging Mueller out for fourth and fifth.

Strupp would need the aid of the third and final caution on lap 51 to close in on Rott, who lead the majority of the race. Strupp would muscle his way around Rott for the point on lap 53 and brought the number 2 car of Bennett with him. Bennett would give Strupp a run over the final 5 circuits but could not get around as the two leaders encountered lap traffic. Strupp would lead Bennett to the line by just under 2 car lengths to earn the victory. Third place finisher Rott would dominate the middle part of the Race for Life, as he had worked out to a 4-1/2 second lead before the last caution brought him back to the pack. Rott took over the lead on lap 20 and slowly gained his advantage on the rest of the pack, as a couple of contenders experienced problems. Current points leader, Conrad Morgan (Waukesha), moved into second from his twelfth starting position working lap 42. While threading his way thru two cars pulling back onto the track after spinning, Morgan had no where to go and was forced into one of them. As a result, Morgan’s fender pushed into the right rear, causing his tire to go down. He would pull off and make repairs but settled for a 18th place finish, losing valuable points in his third straight championship run. Rott survived the earlier two cautions with the lead as both times he would regain a comfortable margin. He would claim the extra $100.00 for leading at half-way for the Mac Tools Half-Way Challenge, after taking over the lead from front row starters Charlie Thon Jr. (Germantown) and Chris Ratajczyk (Menomonee Falls). The pair would raced side by side at the drop of the green flag for 13 laps until Thon could complete the pass for the lead.

Scott Schoeni (Slinger) took the checkered in the 30 lap late model semi feature. Schoeni, who took command of the race from on lap 2, was never challenged en route to his victory. Matt Raudabaugh (Menomonee Falls) was riding in the second position until lap 16 when his car got loose on the backstretch, dropping him to the third position. Dan Topel (Lake Mills) got around Raudabaugh during the mishap and would not allow Radabaugh another shot at the transfer position after a caution on lap 20 bunched the field. Schoeni and Topel would finish one, two and earn the transfer positions to the feature. Rounding out the top five was John Zimmerman (Markesan) in third, Jamie Wallace (Pell Lake) in fourth, and Mike Egan (Slinger) in fifth.

In other late model action, Steve Huelsbeck (Milwaukee) won the 15 lap consi race with Rott winning the 8 lap Mac Tools Trophy Dash. Rott’s teammate, Cindy Peterson (Butler) was fast qualifier for the night, with a lap of 11.669 seconds on the “World’s Fastest 1/4 Mile Oval”. Florian Wisinski (Greenfield) took the checkered in the Midwest Modified feature to add to his points lead in the division. Wisinski, who started outside row 4, had positioned himself in the third spot after the first caution on lap ten of the 30 lap event. Just four circuits later Wisinski was around leader Dale Prunty (Allenton) showing the way. The second and final caution for the modifieds flew on lap 24 to bunch the field for a 6 lap shoot out to the end. Wisinski proved to strong and held on for the win. Rounding out the top five was Dale Prunty, Chris Peterson (Cedarburg), Steve Lurvey (Dousman), and Mike Cayton (Butler).

Mike Bidlack (Elkhorn) won the Eldorado Trailer Sales Trophy Dash and Florian Wisinski (Greenfield) turned fast time with a lap of 12.341 seconds.

Mark Bitzan (Menomonee Falls) took the lead on lap 3 on the way to his victory in the 16 lap Slinger Stinger feature. The win would move Bitzan in front of the point battle, moving up from the sixth spot at the beginning of the night. Following Bitzan across the line was David Beck (Butler), Ryan Oswald (Cedarburg), Bill Shavlik (West Bend), and Mike Pascavis (Sheboygan) in the top five.

Fast qualifier Dan Miller (Sussex) turned a lap of 13.606 seconds and Mike Pascavis (Sheboygan) and Mike Graczkowski (Jackson) each won their 8 lap heat races. Officials canceled the Figure 8 race for the evening due to wet track conditions in the X. In other racing action, Mark and Ken Fogel won the Team Cruiser race, Mark Winter (Madison) won the Spectator Elimination races, Craig Bergemann won in the Speedway Guest cars, and Dr. David Brown won the Celebrity Race.

Results Summary


1. Tony Strupp (West Bend) 13. Todd Thelen (Oconomowoc)
2. Lowell Bennett (Neenah) 14. Charlie Thon Jr. (Germantown)
3. Toby Rott (Slinger) 15. Scott Schoeni (Slinger)
4. Eric Fransen (Slinger) 16. Cindy Peterson (Butler)
5. Brad Mueller (Random Lake) 17. Rich Loch (Muskego)
6. David Prunty (Lomira) 18. Conrad Morgan (Waukesha)
7. Al Schill (Franklin) 19. Dan Topel (Lake Mills)
8. Chris Ratajczyk (Menomonee Falls) 20. Donavan Morgan (Oconomowoc)
9. Chad Barker (Caladonia) 21. Jeff Holtz (Franklin)
10. Fred Winn (Milwaukee) 22. Jeff Kendall (Montello)
11. Larry Los (Darien)
12. Dan Mills (Menomonee Falls)

FAST QUALIFIER - Cindy Peterson (Butler) - 11.669 seconds
FAST DASH - Toby Rott (Slinger) -8 laps


1. Scott Schoeni (Slinger) 4. Jamie Wallace (Pell Lake)
2. Dan Topel (Lake Mills) 5. Mike Egan (Slinger)
3. John Zimmerman (Markesan)


1. Steve Huelsbeck (Milwaukee) 4. Joe Gross (Milwaukee)
2. Scott Weston (Germantown) 5. Andrew Brocker (Bay View)
3. Danny Heying (Waukesha)


1. Florian Wisinski (Greenfield) 4. Steve Lurvey (Dousman)
2. Dale Prunty (Allenton) 5. Mike Cayton (Butler)
3. Chris Peterson (Cedarburg)

FAST QUALIFIER - Florian Wisinski (Greenfield) - 12.341 seconds
FAST DASH - Mike Bidlack (Elkhorn) - 8 laps


1. Mark Bitzan (Menomonee Falls) 4. Bill Shavlik (West Bend)
2. David Beck (Butler) 5. Mike Pascavis (Sheboygan)
3. Ryan Oswald (Cedarburg)

FAST QUALIFIER - Dan Miller (Sussex) -13.606 seconds
HEAT 1 - Mike Pascavis (Sheboygan) - 8 laps
HEAT 2 - Mike Graczkowski (Jackson) - 8 laps

FIGURE 8 WINNER - cancelled - 10 laps

TEAM CRUISERS - Mark Fogel/Ken Fogel - 10 laps

SPEEDWAY GUEST CARS - Craig Bergemann - 8 laps

SPECTATOR RACE - Mark Winter (Madison)

CELEBRITY RACE - Dr. David Brown