Morgan Wins Amoco Memorial Day Weekend 80 at the Slinger Super Speedway!
By Daryl Schultz

May 30, 1999; Slinger, WI -  Conrad Morgan (Waukesha) took home top honors in the 80 lap late model feature of E.H. Wolf and Amoco Memorial Day Weekend 80 at the Slinger Super Speedway. Morgan raced his way to the top five from his starting spot of outside the sixth row, just 13 laps into the Holiday Weekend Special. Following Morgan to the finish in the 22 car field was David Prunty (Lomira) second, Donavan Morgan (Oconomowoc) third, Eric Fransen (Slinger) fourth and Cindy Peterson (Butler) fifth.

Morgan would take the checkered flag some 4 seconds in front of Prunty as he doubled his lead over the final 10 laps. Morgan masterfully worked his way through lap traffic starting on lap 54, using both the upper and lower grooves to increase his already sizable lead. The last time the field would see Morgan was after the third of three caution periods showed on lap 42. The top five would break from the pack on the restart and Morgan would build a 2 second lead just 8 laps later as second and third were contested. Prunty would move into second around Fransen working lap 50 and Conrad’s son, Donavan, got around Fransen on lap 62 for third.

Fransen, showed the point from lap 21, until Morgan took the lead and the Mac Tools Half-Way Challenge money from him on lap 39. Fransen, who started seventh, passed Charlie Thon Jr. (Germantown) who grabbed the lead from the outside pole at the drop of the green flag.

It was the two number 44 cars that controlled the late model semi feature as John Zimmerman (Markesan) and Wayne Freimund (West Allis) finished one and two to advance to the feature event. The pair started from the front row with Zimmerman taking the lead from outside of row 1 and was never contested for the lead. Scott Lindsay (Dousman) caught the bumper of Friemund on lap 22 of the 30 lap event, in hopes of gaining one of the 2 transfer positions. Lindsay could not make the pass before the drop of the checkered and would settle for third. Rounding out the top five was Jerry Mueller (Germantown) in fourth, and Jamie Wallace (Pell Lake) in fifth. In other late model action, Steve Huelsbeck (Milwaukee) held off a valiant challenge from Matt Raudabaugh (Menomonee Falls) over the last two laps. Huelsbeck would hold his line and take the checkered in the 15 lap consi race. Brad Mueller (Random Lake) won the 8 lap Mac Tools Trophy Dash from the pole and Toby Rott (Slinger) turned fast time with a lap of 11.674 seconds on the “World’s Fastest 1/4 Mile Oval”. Florian Wisinski (Greenfield) flexed his muscle as he moved from his twelfth place starting position to win the Midwest Modified feature event. Wisinski moved into the top five after seven circuits and continued his charge, taking over the point on lap 21 of the 30 lap feature. His top finish also propelled him into the points lead in the division. Finishing second was no one. The second and third place cars tangled while working the final lap, causing the second place car to spin and remain on the track. The third place car was able to cross the finish line in second, but would be sent to the rear because of the involvement in the accident. Rounding out the top five was Dale Prunty (Allenton) third, Brian Holtz (Franklin) fourth and Dennis Prunty (Allenton) fifth.

John Kruschel (Sussex) won the Eldorado Trailer Sales Trophy Dash and Dennis Prunty was fast qualifier with a lap of 12.447 seconds.

Roger Schmid (Stone Bank) took the checkered in the 16 lap Slinger Stinger feature. Working the final lap, Michael Flairty (Jackson) pulled up to the rear bumper of Schmid but was unable to maneuver his way around the winner. Completing the top five for the Stingers was Peter Wiedmeyer (West Bend), Mark Bitzan (Menomonee Falls), and Dan Miller (Sussex). Mike Graczkowski (Jackson) and Schmid each won their respective 8 lap Slinger Stinger heat races and Miller set fast time with a lap of 13.449 seconds.

Randy Theimer took home the victory as ten cars battled for ten laps in the Figure 8 feature. The win moved him into the points lead for the division.

In other racing action, Rob Myers and Duane Olbinski won the Team Cruiser division, Brad Klebba (Sussex) won the Spectator Elimination Races, and Bob Theall won the Speedway Guest Cars feature.

Results Summary


1. Conrad Morgan (Waukesha) 13. Wayne Freimund (West Allis)
2. David Prunty (Lomira) 14. Rich Loch (Muskego)
3. Donavan Morgan (Oconomowoc) 15. John Zimmerman (Markesan)
4. Eric Fransen (Slinger) 16. Chris Ratajczyk (Meno Falls)
5. Cindy Peterson (Butler) 17. Toby Rott (Slinger)
6. Al Schill (Franklin) 18. Jerry Eckhardt (Johnson Creek)
7. Brad Mueller (Random Lake) 19. Todd Thelen (Oconomowoc)
8. Tony Strupp (West Bend) 20. Jeff Holtz (Franklin)
9. Dan Mills (Menomonee Falls) 21. Lowell Bennett (Neenah)
10. Tom Hromadka (Brookfield) 22. Jeff Kendall (Montello)
11. Charlie Thon Jr. (Germantown)
12. Randy Schuler (Mequon)

FAST QUALIFIER - Toby Rott (Slinger) - 11.674 seconds
FAST DASH - Brad Mueller (Random Lake) - 8 laps


1. John Zimmerman (Markesan) 4. Jerry Mueller (Germantown)
2. Wayne Freimund (West Allis) 5. Jamie Wallace (Pell Lake)
3. Scott Lindsay (Dousman)


1. Steve Huelsbeck (Milwaukee) 4. Andrew Brocker (Bay View)
2. Matt Raudabaugh (Menomonee Falls) 5. Scott Weston (Germantown)
3. Joe Gross (Milwaukee)


1. Florian Wisinski (Greenfield) 4. Brian Holtz (Franklin)
2. --- 5. Dennis Prunty (Allenton)
3. Dale Prunty (Allenton)

FAST QUALIFIER - Dennis Prunty (Allenton) - 12.447 seconds
FAST DASH - John Kruschel (Sussex) - 8 laps


1. Roger Schmid (Stone Bank) 4. Mark Bitzan (Menomonee Falls)
2. Michael Flairty (Jackson) 5. Dan Miller (Sussex)
3. Peter Wiedmeyer (West Bend)

FAST QUALIFIER -Dan Miller (Sussex) -13.449 seconds
HEAT 1 -Mike Graczkowski (Jackson) - 8 laps
HEAT 2 -Roger Schmid (Stone Bank) - 8 laps

FIGURE 8 WINNER - Randy Theimer - 10 laps

TEAM CRUISERS - Rob Myers/Duane Olbinski - 10 laps

SPEEDWAY GUEST CARS - Bob Theall - 8 laps

SPECTATOR RACE - Brad Klebba (Sussex)