Morgan Scores First of Regular Season
at Slinger Speedway!

By Daryl Schultz

May 23, 1999; Slinger, WI -  Conrad Morgan (Waukesha) notched his first regular season victory of the year, as he claimed the Jasper Engines 65 Sunday night, May 23rd, at the Slinger Super Speedway. Morgan came to the checkered flag four car lengths ahead of second place, after starting outside row six in the 65 lap late model feature. He would be followed in the top five by David Prunty (Lomira), Lowell Bennett (Neenah), Eric Fransen (Slinger) and Toby Rott (Slinger).

Morgan made his winning pass, driving around the outside of Prunty, working lap 51. Prunty stayed within striking distance of Morgan over the final 14 laps as the leader would encounter lap traffic, but could not narrow the gap to more than the 4 car length margin of victory. The fight at the end of the race was between Bennett and Fransen, as Bennett claimed third place with Fransen on his rear bumper. Bennett would pull into third on lap 59 after the two battled for the position over the final third of the race.

The hardest charging car at the end of the race was Cindy Peterson (Butler). Peterson, who was part of the last caution on lap 35, was sent to the rear of the field and quickly moved up to an eighth place finish over the final 20 laps. The second caution came out on lap 27 when Al Schill (Franklin) suffered a blown motor exiting turn 2. Brad Mueller (Random Lake) was forced thru the oil and hit hard into the backstretch wall as result. Both drivers were unharmed, but each machine sustained heavy damage and were parked for the evening.

Prunty, who started fourth, took the lead on lap 7 and held the point until Morgan got around him 44 laps later. With the lead Prunty maintained the point thru all 3 cautions and claimed the $100.00 bonus of the Mac Tools Half-Way Challenge.

Jamie Wallace (Pell Lake) took the checkered flag in the late model semi feature and earned a position in the feature event. Wallace, who started outside row 3, was able to hold off a late charge by Scott Lindsay (Dousman) to win by a car length in the 30 lap semi. Lindsay made the pass on the outside of Mark Schroeder (Green Bay) for the final transfer position on lap 23. Schroeder would hold on for third place, with the top five being rounded out by Chad Barker (Caladonia) in fourth and Dave Teske (Menomonee Falls) in fifth.

In other late model action Matt Raudabaugh (Menomonee Falls) took the checkered in the consi race, Al Schill (Franklin) won the Mac Tools Trophy Dash and Morgan set fast time with a lap of 11.635 seconds on the "World's Fastest 1/4 Mile Oval".

Steve Lurvey (Dousman) survived to win the Midwest Modified feature. Lurvey, who took the lead on lap 9 of the 25 lap event, was in the right place at the right time to avoid the five cautions that slowed the event. Rookie Dale Prunty (Allenton), who stayed in the top five the entire event, was able to catch the tail of Lurvey at the line to finish second. Rounding out the top five was Brian Holtz (Franklin), Mike Bidlack (Elkhorn), and Larry Reihbrandt (Wauwatosa). Florian Wisinski (Greenfield) was fast qualifier with a lap of 12.360 seconds and Holtz won the Eldorado Trailer Sales Trophy Dash. The Eldorado Trailer Sales Clean Sweep Award went unclaimed and will grow to $400.00 for the Modified driver that can set fast time, win the Trophy Dash and the feature event.

Mike Pascavis (Sheboygan) cruised to victory in the 12 lap Slinger Stinger feature event. Pascavis, who was slowed only by lap traffic shortly past the halfway point, won by a 3 second margin over Mike Graczkowski (Jackson). Rounding out the top five was Mike Wutschel (Milwaukee) in third, Jesse Vey (Germantown) in fourth, and Peter Wiedmeyer (West Bend) in fifth.

Dan Miller (Sussex) turned a lap of 13.733 seconds to become fast qualifier for the Slinger Stingers. Lyle Messenger (Milwaukee) and Dean Olla (Milwaukee) each won their respective 8 lap heat races. The Figure 8 feature was won by Russ Davison, who outlasted the field in the 8 lap main.

In other racing action, Dan and Mark Jung took the checkered in the Team Cruiser division, Mark Winter (Madison) won the Spectator Elimination races, and Dean Hefter won the Speedway Guest cars.