Loch notches victory in LeRoy Meats of Horicon 60!
By Daryl Schultz

May 9, 1999; Slinger, WI -  Rich Loch (Muskego) claimed the checkered flag of the LeRoy Meats of Horicon 60 Sunday night, May 9th, at the Slinger Super Speedway. Loch would hold on to the lead after a late race caution gave him the top spot just three laps from the finish, as Lowell Bennett (Neenah) and Tony Strupp (West Bend) moved up on his rear deck. The margin of victory was 3 car lengths as Loch would lead Bennett, Strupp, Donavan Morgan (Oconomowoc) and Mark Schroeder (Green Bay) across the line in the top five.

The race experienced 3 cautions, the final of them involving the leader at the time, Cindy Peterson (Butler) and five time track champion, Conrad Morgan (Waukesha). Peterson and Loch would make contact as the pair worked their way down the backstretch. The slight contact made Peterson squirrely and while trying to correct, got in the way of Morgan. Morgan’s front end would get airborne, causing severe damage which required him to pull off for repairs. As a result of the spin, Peterson was relegated to the rear, handing the lead over to Loch.

Loch had his mirror full of the two veterans Bennett and Strupp as the field came back to the green flag, just three circuits from the end. Loch endured the initial thrust from Bennett as he pulled to the inside looking to take the lead from the Muskego racer. Loch would use the high groove to maintain the point, while Bennett would have to concern himself with Strupp for second.

Prior to the final of the three cautions, Peterson, who started from the pole, Loch and Bennett made a three car break from the rest of the field thru the mid-stage of the 60 lap main. With Peterson’s car glued to the inside line, she would pull from her two competitors until lap traffic forced her to go around them on the high side. Loch and Bennett would erase her advantage until she could clear the back markers and move back down and begin to ease away. Morgan, who is the defending track champion, methodically worked his way to the front and would catch the trio on lap 35, setting a four way battle for the top spot until trouble erupted.

Peterson had inherited the lead from Al Schill (Franklin) after the second caution on lap 19, as Schill’s car would not come up to speed bringing the field to the green flag. Schill was tagged from behind, extending the caution period. Schill drove his ride by both Peterson and Schroeder in the opening laps of the feature.

In other late model action, Race McComb (Jackson) took the checkered in the 30 lap semi feature. He would lead Toby Rott (Slinger), Mike Egan (Slinger), Jeff Kendall (Montello), last week’s feature winner, and Russ Peterson (Hartland) in the top five. McComb, who started outside the front row, had gained a five car length lead by the fourth lap. Rott was able to cut into McComb’s lead during the caution free event but would not be able to seriously contend for the lead. Both McComb and Rott earned advancement to the feature event with the top two finishes.

In other late model action, R.J. Malec (Wadsworth) won the 15 lap late model consi race and Loch would earn the additional $100.00 by winning the Mac Tools trophy dash. Morgan turned fast time with a lap of 11.643 seconds around the World’s Fastest 1/4 Mile Oval.

Dennis Prunty (Allenton) finished with a two second lead over Lenny Gallenberg III (Kewaskum) in the main event for the Midwest Modified division. Prunty positioned himself in the top five by the first third of the 30 lap event. Working lap 21, Prunty caught the early race leader Gallenberg. Gallenberg would succumb to Prunty’s advancements and give up the point on lap 24. Following Prunty and Gallenberg were Florian Wisinski (Greenfield), Brian Holtz (Franklin), and Mike Bidlack (Elkhorn) in the top five. Prunty took the checkered in the Eldorado Trailer Sales Midwest Modified fast dash and Wisinski turned fast time with a lap of 12.393 seconds.

Dan Miller (Sussex) held off a hard charging field to take the checkered in the Slinger Stinger Feature event. Peter Wiedmeyer (West Bend) was the man on the move as the 16 lap feature wound down. After starting outside row four, Wiedmeyer positioned himself in third place just past the half way point of the race. Wiedmeyer looked outside of Mike Graczkowski (Jackson) on the final lap to complete the pass for second place, but ran out of time to contest for the win. Following Wiedmeyer and Graczkowski, was Mike Pascavis (Sheboygan) in fourth and Roger Schmid (Stone Bank) in fifth. Mike Wutschel (Milwaukee) and Graczkowski each won eight lap Slinger Stinger heat races and Pascavis set fast time with a lap of 13.436 seconds.

A shortened Figure 8 feature was won by Mark Ritger (St. Cloud). A horrific crash at the X between Scott Goetzke (West Bend) and Chris Van Hout on lap 6 brought out a red flag condition and the race was called at that point. Both drivers walked away and responded verbally to safety workers on their initial assessment.

In other divisions, Dan and Mark Jung (Richfield) made it two in a row as they won the 10 lap Team Cruiser Division Feature. Jim Rychtik won the feature of the Speedway Guest Cars, and Bob Sampson (Milwaukee) went home victorious in the Spectator Elimination races.

Results Summary


1. Rich Loch (Muskego) 13. Cindy Peterson (Butler)
2. Lowell Bennett (Neenah) 14. Tom Hromadka (Brookfield)
3. Tony Strupp (West Bend) 15. David Prunty (Lomira)
4. Donavan Morgan (Oconomowoc) 16. Randy Schuler (Mequon)
5. Jamie Wallace (Pell Lake) 17. Toby Rott (Slinger)
6. Eric Fransen (Slinger) 18. Al Schill (Franklin)
7. John Zimmerman (Markesan) 19. Race McComb (Jackson)
8. Jeff Holtz (Franklin) 20. Chris Ratajczyk (Meno Falls)
9. Mark Schroeder (Green Bay) 21. Scott Lindsay (Dousman)
10. Todd Thelen (Oconomowoc) 22. Charlie Thon Jr. (Germantown)
11. Wayne Freimund (West Allis)
12. Conrad Morgan (Waukesha)

FAST QUALIFIER - Conrad Morgan (Wales) - 11.643 seconds
FAST DASH - Rich Loch (Muskego) - 8 laps


1. Race McComb (Jackson) 4. Jeff Kendall (Montello)
2. Toby Rott (Slinger) 5. Russ Peterson (Hartland)
3. Mike Egan (Slinger)


1. R.J. Malec (Wadsworth) 4. Andrew Brocker (Bay View)
2. Vern Hilker (Mayville) 5. Joe Gross (Milwaukee)
3. Larry Richards (Montello)


1. Dennis Prunty (Allenton) 4. Brian Holtz (Franklin)
2. Lenny Gallenberg III (Kewaskum) 5. Mike Bidlack (Elkhorn)
3. Florian Wisinski (Greenfield)

FAST QUALIFIER -Florian Wisinski (Greenfield)- 12.393 seconds
FAST DASH - Dennis Prunty (Allenton) - 8 laps


1. Dan Miller (Sussex) 4. Mike Pascavis (Sheboygan)
2. Peter Wiedmeyer (West Bend) 5. Roger Schmid (Stone Bank)
3. Mike Graczkowski (Jackson)

FAST QUALIFIER -Mike Pascavis (Sheboygan) - 13.436 seconds
HEAT 1 - Mike Wutschel (Milwaukee) - 8 laps
HEAT 2 - Mike Graczkowski (Jackson) - 8 laps

FIGURE 8 WINNER -Mark Ritger (St. Cloud) - 6 laps

TEAM CRUISERS -Dan Jung / Mark Jung (Richfield) - 10 laps

SPEEDWAY GUEST CARS - Jim Rychtik - 6 laps

SPECTATOR RACE - Bob Sampson (Milwaukee)