Bennett Wins Bounty on Morgan
During Labor Day Special at Slinger!

By Lanae Weyer

September 5, 1999; Slinger, WI -  Near record crowds packed the Slinger Super Speedway, Sunday night, September 5th, for the Labor Day Weekend Special as Lowell Bennett (Neenah) finally out ran a hard charging Conrad Morgan (Waukesha) to claim the 99 lap late model feature. In the process Bennett collected the $500.00 dollar bounty placed on the defending track champion, Morgan. Bennett is the first driver to start behind the five time track champion, pass him, and go on to win the feature since the bounty was enacted.

As the 22 car field took the green, second generation drivers Chris Ratajczyk (Menomonee Falls) and Donavan Morgan (Oconomowoc) ran side by side, while the man to beat, Conrad Morgan lurked in third. Ratajczyk had a great run, leading the first 38 laps using the inside lane making Donavan Morgan use the high groove to finally get around him and into the lead.

Bennett who started on the outside of the fourth row, worked his way to third by lap 30. Bennett then passed Donovan Morgan for the lead on lap 58, as Conrad Morgan followed Bennett around his son.

The first of two cautions came on lap 70 as a result of a multi-car spin in turns one and two. On the restart Bennett and Morgan pulled away from the field until the second of two cautions on lap 77. Conrad Morgan worked hard trying to get around Bennett during the closing laps as the leaders encountered lap traffic. At the finish Bennett held off Conrad Morgan for the win as David Prunty (Lomira), Cindy Peterson (Butler), and Donavan Morgan rounded out the top five.

The late model driver who worked the hardest for his finish during the night was Jamie Wallace (Pell Lake). He ended up finishing 9th in the feature, after working his way into the event, via the semi-feature.

In other Slinger Late Model action David Prunty (Lomira) was the fast qualifier with a lap of 11.653 seconds, Conrad Morgan was the winner of the 8 lap Mac Tools Trophy Dash. Greg Dreyer won the 15 lap Consolation feature.

The 30 lap late model semi-feature was won by the afformentioned, Wallace. He jumped to an early lead over second place finisher Scott Schoeni (Slinger), with the top five rounded out by RJ Malec (Kenosha), Scott Lindsay (Dousman) and Dan Mills (Menomonee Falls). Wallace had no problem in the event, as he breezed to an easy win as the rest of the field battled with lap traffic. Wallace and Schoeni earned their way into the main event due to their top two finishes.

Brian Holtz (Franklin) won the highly competitive 30 lap Midwest Modified feature. Holtz's good fortune began early when he weaved his way through a multi-car incident on the second lap, involving Alan Keppert (West Bend) and Tom King (Watertown) as they were battling for the lead. Once racing resumed, Holtz and brothers Dennis and Dale Prunty (Allenton), freight trained their way to the front of the field with Holtz taking the lead on lap 12. Holtz and the Prunty brothers ran nose to tail until the Prunty's became caught behind spinning lap cars with three laps to go. The incident did not bring out a yellow, but allowed Holtz to open up a lead while Al Schill (Franklin) moved into second, dropping the Prunty's to third and fourth. Holtz held on to score the win over Schill, while Dennis Prunty, Dale Prunty, and Larry Reihbrandt (Wauwatosa) finished third through fifth. Dale Prunty (Allenton) had fast time with a lap of 12.386 seconds and Florian Wisinski (Greenfield) took the checkered in the Eldorado Trailer Sales 8 lap trophy dash.

In the Slinger Stinger Division, Dan Miller (Sussex) took home the hardware for the 16 lap feature event. Miller outlasted Roger Schmid (Stone Bank), Mark Bitzan (Menomonee Falls), Dan Prunty (Lomira) and John Henning (Cedarburg) to earn the win. In post race inspections, Prunty and Henning were later disqualified. Heat race winners included Peter Wiedmeyer (West Bend) and Dan Lauer (Sussex) with Bill Shavlik (West Bend) turning the fastest lap for the division, with a time of 13.406 seconds.

In other racing action, Dan and Mark Jung won the Team Cruiser Division feature, recording their seventh win of the season. Rick Eichenberger claimed the 6 lap Speedway Guest Car feature and Paul Skorbier (Allenton) took the checkered flag in the Spectator Elimination Races.

Results Summary


1. Lowell Bennett (Neenah) 13. Dave Teske (Menomonee Falls)
2. Conrad Morgan (Waukesha) 14. Tom Hromadka (Brookfield)
3. David Prunty (Lomira) 15. Jeff Kendall (Montello)
4. Cindy Peterson (Butler) 16. Chris Ratajczyk (Menomonee Falls)
5. Donavan Morgan (Oconomowoc) 17. Mike Egan (Slinger)
6. Eric Fransen (Slinger) 18. Rich Loch (Muskego)
7. Al Schill (Franklin) 19. Brad Mueller (Random Lake)
8. Todd Thelen (Oconomowoc) 20. Jeff Holtz (Franklin)
9. Jamie Wallace (Pell Lake) 21. Toby Rott (Slinger)
10. Fred Winn (Milwaukee) 22. Matt Raudabaugh (Meno Falls)
11. Randy Schuler (Mequon)
12. Scott Schoeni (Slinger)

FAST QUALIFIER - David Prunty (Lomira) 11.653 seconds
FAST DASH - Conrad Morgan (Waukesha) 8-laps


1. Jamie Wallace (Pell Lake) 4. Scott Lindsay (Dousman)
2. Scott Schoeni (Slinger) 5. Dan Mills (Menomonee Falls)
3. RJ Malec (Kenosha)


1. Greg Dreher (West Bend)
2. Joel Sager (Slinger)
3. Dean Gagliano (Brookfield)


1. Brian Holtz (Franklin) 4. Dale Prunty (Allenton)
2. Al Schill (Franklin) 5. Larry Reihbrandt (Wauwatosa)
3. Dennis Prunty (Allenton)

FAST QUALIFIER - Dale Prunty (Allenton) 12.386 seconds
FAST DASH - Florian Wisinski (Greenfield) 8-laps


1. Dan Miller (Sussex) 4. Dan Prunty (Lomira) -DQ'd
2. Roger Schmid (Stone Bank) 5. John Henning (Cedarburg) -DQ'd
3. Mark Bitzan (Menomonee Falls)

FAST QUALIFIER - Bill Shavlik (West Bend) 13.406 seconds
HEAT 1 - Peter Wiedmeyer (West Bend) 8-laps
HEAT 2 - Dan Lauer (Sussex) 8-laps

FIGURE 8 WINNER - Mark Ritger (St Cloud) 10-laps

TEAM CRUISERS - Dan and Mark Jung 10-laps

SPEEDWAY GUEST CARS - Rick Eichenberger 6-laps

SPECTATOR RACE - Paul Skorbier (Allenton)