Fransen Breaks Morgan's Winning Streak!
By Lanae Weyer

August 15, 1999; Slinger, WI -  Eric Fransen is the first driver in the past five weeks to see the checkered flags at the Slinger Speedway other than Conrad Morgan (Waukesha) as he lead Tony Strupp (West Bend) to the line and won The Kruegers Entertainment Center 65 at the Worlds Fastest 1/4 Mile. Strupp finished a close second while Conrad Morgan (Waukesha), Al Schill (Franklin), and Jeff Holtz (Franklin) rounded out the top five spots.

" I fought Tony at the end, I thought that he was going to have me, I felt that I had a tire going down but I was able to hold on !" Fransen jumped into an early battle for the lead with John Zimmerman (Markesan). Fransen tried to get around Zimmerman as the caution flag came out for an accident following a spin by Jeff Kendall (Montello) coming out turn 4, collecting the car of fast qualifier David Prunty (Lomira)Mike Egan (Slinger) and Lowell Bennett (Neenah). On the restart it was a side by side battle again between Fransen and Zimmerman, with Fransen on the outside. The pair raced door handle to door handle for the next 30 laps as the rest of the field began to gain on the leaders. As Tony Strupp and Al Schill, worked their way behind the leaders Conrad Morgan (Waukesha) began to close in. When the second caution of the night waved when Cindy Peterson (Butler) broke and hit the turn 3 wall.

When the race resumed Fransen pulled away with Strupp. The two battled for the remainder of the race as Morgan closed in on the pair but just ran out of time. The win ends Conrad Morgan’s win streak at five straight features , but the bonus money will continue to anyone who can pass Morgan and win the feature.

In the Late Model Semi-feature Mike Strupp (Theresa) walked away with the 30 lap event, over Wayne Freimund (West Allis). Strupp jumped to an early lead from his front row starting position. Strupp looking much like the son of the 4 time track champion as he pulled to a 6 car lentgh lead and the victory. There was a heated battle for second between Wayne Freimund (West Allis) and Charlie Thon Jr. (Germantown) who placed third.

Steve Lurvey (Dousman) held off a hard charging Al Schill (Franklin) to win the 30 lap Midwest Modified main event. Lurvey took the lead on lap 2 and was followed closely by Schill who moved into the second position just past the halfway point. Schill stayed glued to Lurvey’s rear bumper as the fourth and final caution flag flew on lap 27 for an incident involving fast qualifier Florian Wisinski (Greenfield) and Larry Reihbrandt (Wauwatosa), setting up a three lap dash for the win. Schill pulled alongside Lurvey on the final lap but fell inches short at the finish line as Lurvey scored his third feature win of the season. Dale Prunty (Allenton) finished third ahead of Chris Peterson (Cedarburg) and Lenny Gallenberg III (Kewaskum).

In the Slinger Stinger action Bill Shavlik held off point leader Pete Wiedmeyer to win the 16 lap Slinger Stinger feature. Shavlik passed early leader John Henning on lap 11 and then maneuvered his way through lapped traffic to hold off Wiedmeyer for the win. Dan Miller finished third while Henning and Scott Asher rounded out the top five.

In other action, Mark Ritger (St. Cloud) won the Figure eight feature with a four car length lead over second place Willie Van Camp (Appleton).

The teem cruiser division was won by Mark and Ken Fogal in the exciting eight lap race. The spectator eliminator was won by Tom Elisnger, and in the Suburban Motors Speedway guest cars, Mark Vogt was the winner.

Results Summary


1. Eric Fransen (Slinger) 13. Chad Barker (Caladonia)
2. Tony Strupp (West Bend) 14. Vern Hilker (Mayville)
3. Conrad Morgan (Waukesha)) 15. Wayne Freimund (West Allis)
4. Al Schill (Franklin) 16. Matt Raudabaugh (Meno. Falls)
5. Jeff Holtz (Franklin) 17. Mike Strupp (Theresa)
6. John Zimmerman (Markesan) 18. Cindy Peterson (Butler)
7. Chris Ratajczyk (Menomonee Falls) 19. Race McComb (Jackson)
8. Toby Rott (Slinger) 20. Jeff Kendall (Montello)
9. Todd Thelen (Oconomowoc) 21. David Prunty (Lomira)
10. Lowell Bennett (Neenah) 22. Mike Egan (Slinger)
11. Scott Schoeni (Slinger)
12. Randy Schuler (Mequon)

FAST QUALIFIER - David Prunty (Lomira) 11.665 seconds
FAST DASH - Tony Strupp (West Bend) 8-Laps


1. Mike Strupp (Theresa) 4. Rich Loch (Muskego)
2. Wayne Freimund (West Allis) 5. John Mueller (Markesan)
3. Charlie Thon Jr. (Germantown)


1. Steve Lurvey (Dousman) 4. Chris Peterson (Cedarburg)
2. Al Schill (Franklin) 5. Lenny Gallenberg III (Kewaskum)
3. Dale Prunty (Allenton)

FAST QUALIFIER - Florian Wisinski (Greenfield) 12.426 seconds
FAST DASH - Larry Reihbrandt (Wauwatosa) 8-laps


1. Bill Shavlik (West Bend) 4. John Henning (Cedarburg)
2. Peter Wiedmeyer (West Bend) 5. Scott Ascher (Sussex)
3. Dan Miller (Sussex)

FAST QUALIFIER - Dan Prunty (Lomira) 13.479 seconds
HEAT 1 - Mark Flairty - 10 laps
HEAT 2 - David Beck -10 laps

FIGURE 8 WINNER - Mark Ritger -10 laps

TEAM CRUISERS - Mark and Ken Fogal