Morgan Scores Fifth in a row at the Slinger Speedway!!
By Daryl Schultz

August 15, 1999; Slinger, WI -  Conrad Morgan (Waukesha) drove his Chevrolet Monte Carlo to his fifth straight regular season, late model feature win at the World's Fastest 1/4 Mile Oval. Morgan started the race on the outside of the fifth row as his son Donavan Morgan (Oconomowoc) took the early lead in the Bumper to Bumper 80 lap feature, Sunday night, August 8th. Morgan was followed in the top five by Tony Strupp (West Bend), Al Schill (Franklin),Eric Fransen (Slinger) and Lowell Bennett (Neenah).

While the younger Morgan and Charlie Thon Jr. (Germantown) occupied the top two spots, the rest of the field ran side by side until the first caution appeared for a spin by the leader on lap 10. After the restart, John Zimmerman (Markesan) pulled ahead of the field and into a commanding 1/4 lap length lead, as Brad Mueller (Random Lake) and Strupp tried to run him down. Conrad Morgan just pulled into the top five; as a caution flag flew on lap 27 when contact between Thon and David Prunty (Lomira) scattered debris between turns 1 and 2.

After the restart, Strupp, a 4 time track champion, worked the high groove to get around Zimmerman, and Conrad Morgan followed him into second on the 35th lap. Strupp led the halfway point picking up the Mac Tools Half-Way Challenge bonus money. After numerous attempts Morgan passed Strupp and then pulled out to a 3 car length lead just into the second half of the race.

Schill, who chose to start behind Morgan trying to earn the bounty, worked his way into the third spot as Conrad seemed to toy with the field. The rest of the field ran a trophy dash style race of their own as Morgan pulled out to a three car length lead, and to his fifth straight late model feature win.

No one was able to claim the bonus put up by promoter, Wayne Erickson, on Morgan. As $500.00 bonus will be paid to the driver that starts behind the defending track champion and passes him on the track, without Morgan encountering any mechanical problems or being caught up in a wreck. In post race interviews Morgan talked about how dominate his car has been. "Put any one of those guys in the top 12 in that feature, in this car, and their going to win with it," Morgan said. "The car is unbelievable."

In the late model semi feature Jerry Mueller (Germantown) outran Dave Teske (Menomonee Falls) in the 30 lap event. Mueller and Teske battled side by side until lap 6, when a caution for a multi car crash in turn 4. Mueller led the race from there on, with Chris Ratajczyk (Menomonee Falls) Randy Schuler (Mequon) and Wayne Freimund (West Allis) rounding out the top five spots.

In the Mac Tools Trophy Dash, Strupp took the checkered flag in the 8 lap race, and Prunty was the fast qualifier with a lap of 11.723 seconds. Brian Holtz (Franklin) ran away with the win in the 30 lap Midwest Modified Feature. Holtz had a full straight-away length lead as the checkered flew with Chris Peterson (Cedarburg) in second, Dennis Prunty (Allenton) third, Chris Harmon (East Troy) fourth and Dale Prunty (Allenton) fifth.

Holtz motored around early race leader Lenny Gallenberg III (Kewaskum) working lap 13, which marked the beginning of the end for the rest of the pack. The caution free race seen two of the top competitors have trouble for the evening. Points leader Florian Wisinski (Greenfield) suffered a flat right front tire, causing his points lead to drop to just 2 points over Prunty. Schill, driving in both the late model and modified division, spun exiting turn 4 dashing any hopes for a top five finish in both feature events.

Steve Lurvey (Dousman) won the Eldorado Trailer Sales trophy dash and fast time of the night was set by Florian Wisinski (Greenfield) with a lap of 12.418 seconds.

Mike Pascavis (Sheboygan) earned his second feature win of the season as he claimed the 16 lap Slinger Stinger Feature. Pascavis made his winning pass on lap 15 getting around Peter Wiedmeyer (West Bend) who held on for second. Rounding out the top five was Dan Miller (Sussex), Todd Branneis (Waukesha) and Dale Prunty (Allenton) In the Slinger Stinger action, Rich Wagner (West Bend)won the 8 lap semi feature, with Roger Schmid (Stone Bank) and Scott Ascher (Sussex) each winning their heat races. Dan Miller (Sussex) was the fast qualifier with a lap of 13.633 seconds.

Willy Van Camp claimed the Figure 8 event during the Bumper to Bumper sponsored night.

In other racing action Rob Myers and Duane Olbinski won the team cruiser division, Brian Bartel won the Speedway Guest race, and Joe Destefano (Colgate) won the Spectator Elimination races.

Results Summary


1. Conrad Morgan (Waukesha) 13. Jerry Eckhardt (Johnson Creek)
2. Tony Strupp (West Bend) 14. Toby Rott (Slinger)
3. Al Schill (Franklin) 15. Tom Hromadka (Brookfield)
4. Eric Fransen (Slinger) 16. Dave Teske (Menomonee Falls)
5. Lowell Bennett (Neenah) 17. Jeff Kendall (Montello)
6. Brad Mueller (Random Lake) 18. Charlie Thon Jr. (Germantown)
7. John Zimmerman (Markesan) 19. Brian Hoppe (Verona)
8. Cindy Peterson (Butler) 20. Donavan Morgan (Oconomowoc)
9. Todd Thelen (Oconomowoc) 21. Larry Los (Darien)
10. Rich Loch (Muskego)
11. Mike Egan (Slinger)
12. Mike Egan (Slinger)

FAST QUALIFIER - David Prunty (Lomira) 11.723 seconds
FAST DASH - Tony Strupp (West Bend) 8 Laps


1. Jerry Mueller (Germantown) 4. Randy Schuler (Mequon)
2. Dave Teske (Menomonee Falls) 5. Wayne Freimund (West Allis)
3. Chris Ratajczyk (Menomonee Falls)


1. Brian Holtz (Franklin) 4. Chris Harmon (East Troy)
2. Chris Peterson (Cedarburg) 5. Dale Prunty (Allenton)
3. Dennis Prunty (Allenton)

FAST QUALIFIER - Florian Wisinski (Greenfield) 12.418 seconds
FAST DASH - Steve Lurvey (Dousman) 8 laps


1. Mike Pascavis (Sheboygan) 4. Todd Branneis (Waukesha)
2. Peter Wiedmeyer (West Bend) 5. Dale Prunty (Allenton)
3. Dan Miller (Sussex)

FAST QUALIFIER - Dan Miller ( Meno.Falls ) 13.633 seconds
HEAT 1 - Roger Schmid (Stone Bank) 8 laps
HEAT 2 - Scott Ascher (Sussex) 8 laps
SEMI - Rich Wagner (West Bend)

FIGURE 8 WINNER - Willy Van Camp (Appleton)

TEAM CRUISERS - Rob Myers and Duane Olbinski


SPECTATOR RACE - Joe Destefano (Colgate)