Mueller Scores Big at Slinger Super Speedway!
By Daryl Schultz

June 7, 1998; Slinger, WI -  Brad Mueller (Random Lake) took home top honors during the Enders Corporation Miss Slinger Speedway Pageant 75 on Sunday night, June 7th, at the Slinger Super Speedway. Mueller, who started in the fourth position, pulled away for a 12 car length advantage as he bested the field after the final caution flew on lap 58 for a spin in the third turn. Prior to the final of the five cautions, Mueller swapped the lead with Conrad Morgan (Wales) until he made the winning pass working lap 51 and drove to an easy win.

Morgan who started on the pole, experienced a right front tire problem after Mueller grabbed the lead for the final time and would later pull off the track to attend to the problem. The battle was left for the runner up position as the trio of Al Schill Jr. (Franklin), Lowell Bennett (Neenah) and Jamie Wallace (Pell Lake) each had ideas for taking the spot. Schill Jr. would hold on to finish second as Bennett looked inside of Schill Jr. over the last few laps but was unable to pull ahead as he was busy holding off the charge of Wallace. The battle ended were it started with David Prunty (Lomira) rounding out the top five.

Mueller moved into the lead early in the contest as he made his way around Randy Schuler (Mequon) on lap 3 and would show the way until Morgan, who started on the pole, used the low groove to grab back the lead. Morgan would claim the $150.00 for the Mac Tools Half-Way Challenge before Mueller was able to get back around the defending track champion.

Jeff Kendall (Montello) took advantage of his first row starting position to take the checkered in the 30 lap late model semi feature. Kendall, who started second gained a transfer position into the feature event along with was Scott Schoeni (Slinger) who finished second. Rounding out the top five was Mike Egan (Slinger) in third, Todd Thelen (Oconomowoc) in fourth, and Chris Ratajczyk (Menomonee Falls) in fifth. In other late model action, it was Scott Weston (Germantown) winning consi A and Jon Reynolds (Rockford, IL) finishing first in consi B. Morgan won the Bumper to Bumper Trophy Dash and Cindy Peterson (Butler) set fast time with a lap of 11.723 seconds.

Florian Wisinski (Greenfield) unseated Fran Prestay (Twin Lakes) as he won the 25 lap feature for the Midwest Modified Division. Prestay, who had claimed every feature prior to the win by Wisinski, was not far behind as he finished in second. Wisinski, who started outside of row 4, made his way around polesitter Roger Wittal (East Troy) working lap 22 on his way to the checkered. Rounding out the top five were Larry Reihbrandt (Wauwatosa), Wittal and John Kruschel (Butler). The Eldorado Trailer Sales Dash was won by Kruschel and Prestay kept his streak of timing in fastest, with a 12.385 second lap.

In the Slinger Stinger Street Stock Division it was Dave Berndt (West Bend) claiming the win in the 18 lap feature. Berndt would hold off Scott Lindsay (Dousman), Paul Wagner (West Bend), Peter Wiedmeyer (West Bend) and Dale Prunty (Allenton) on his way to the win. Wagner and Todd Brauneis (West Allis) each won their respective heat races and Bill Shavlik (West Bend) was fast qualifier with a lap of 13.470 seconds.

Dave Haferkorn (Sussex) took home the win in the 10 lap Figure 8 Division as he oulasted the 9 car field.

In other racing action, John Walker was the winner in the Speedway Guest Car division and Dan Jung and Mark Jung won their second feature in a row in the team Cruiser division.

Lanae Kozi, who gave up the title of Miss Slinger Speedway at intermission, proved supreme in the Women’s Powder Puff Race as she cruised to victory in the 6 lap race.

The new Miss Slinger Speedway for the remainder of the season will be Gina Balistrieri of Colgate, as she won the Pageant held during intermission. The staff of the track would like to thank Lanae for the superb job of representing the track as she ends her two year reign and would also like to welcome aboard Gina.

Results Summary


1. Brad Mueller (Random Lake) 11. Tom Hromadka (Brookfield)
2. Al Schill Jr. (Franklin) 12. Jeff Kendall (Montello)
3. Lowell Bennett (Neenah) 13. Mike Loesche (Pewaukee)
4. Jamie Wallace (Pell Lake) 14. Cindy Peterson (Butler)
5. David Prunty (Lomira) 15. Jerry Stenstrup (Muskego)
6. Tony Strupp (West Bend) 16. Bill Skinner Jr. (Pell Lake)
7. Rich Loch (Muskego) 17. Conrad Morgan (Wales)
8. Chad Barker (Caladonia) 18. Randy Schuler (Mequon)
9. Donavan Morgan (Oconomowoc) 19. Mark Schroeder (Green Bay)
10. Scott Schoeni (Slinger) 20. John Zimmerman (Markesan)

FAST QUALIFIER - Cindy Peterson (Butler) - 11.723 seconds
Conrad Morgan (Wales) - 8 laps


1. Jeff Kendall (Montello) 4. Todd Thelen (Oconomowoc)
2. Scott Schoeni (Slinger) 5. Chris Ratajczyk (Menomonee Falls)
3. Mike Egan (Slinger)


1. Scott Weston (Germantown) 4. Scott Lindsay (Dousman)
2. Burton Brown (Neenah) 5. Steve Hubacek (Menomonee Falls)
3. Race McComb (Jackson)


1. Jon Reynolds (Rockford, IL) 4. Andrew Brocker (Bay View)
2. Jerry Eckhardt (Watertown) 5. John Corrar (Campbellsport)
3. Russ Peterson (Hartland)


1. Florian Wisinski (Greenfield) 4. Roger Wittal (East Troy)
2. Fran Prestay (Twin Lakes) 5. John Kruschel (Butler)
3. Larry Reihbrandt (Wauwatosa)

FAST QUALIFIER - Fran Prestay (Twin Lakes) - 12.385 seconds
John Kruschel (Butler) - 8 laps


1. Dave Berndt (West Bend) 4. Peter Wiedmeyer (West Bend)
2. Bill Shavlik (West Bend) 5. Dale Prunty (Allenton)
3. Paul Wagner (West Bend)

FAST QUALIFIER - Bill Shavlik (West Bend) - 13.470 seconds
HEAT 1 -
Paul Wagner (West Bend) - 8 laps
HEAT 2 -
Todd Brauneis (West Allis) - 8 laps

FIGURE 8 WINNER - Dave Haferkorn (Sussex) 10 laps

TEAM CRUISERS - Dan Jung / Mark Jung


SPECTATOR RACE - P. J. Cain (Sussex)

WOMEN’S POWDER PUFF RACE - Lanae Kozi (Menomonee Falls)