Wallace Captures Alan Kulwicki Memorial Win
at Slinger Super Speedway!

By Daryl Schultz

May 17, 1998; Slinger, WI -  Jamie Wallace (Pell Lake) earned a hard fought victory as Bob Fish Pontiac, Cadillac, GMC presented the 6th Annual Alan Kulwicki Memorial at the Slinger Super Speedway Sunday night, May 17th. Wallace, who started on the pole, had anything but a Sunday drive from the top spot as he would have to hold off Conrad Morgan (Wales) and Tony Strupp (West Bend) on his way to the win. The two veteran drivers who share 7 track titles, each took their shot at the 4th year driver. Wallace would first have to contend with Morgan as the second of 2 cautions flags came out and bunched the field up with only 9 circuits remaining.

Wallace jumped to a quick lead on the restart, while Strupp moved up and would battle Morgan for the second spot. Strupp would make the pass as Morgan encountered problems and had to pull to the infield on lap 60. Strupp would then set his sights on the leader, as Wallace had worked his way to a 10 car length lead. Strupp would cut into the lead but would only make up half the distance as Wallace would lead by 5 car lengths at the drop of the checkered in the 65 lap late model feature.

Wallace had worked to an almost 5 second lead by the mid point of the race, until lap traffic allowed Al Schill Jr. (Franklin) and the duo of Strupp and Morgan to catch the leader. Schill Jr. encountered problems and was part of the reason for the second caution. Strupp settled for the runner up spot and the top five was rounded out by Lowell Bennett (Neenah), Scott Schoeni (Slinger) and Mark Schroeder (Green Bay). Wallace also earned an additional $150.00 by winning the MAC Tools Half - Way Challenge.

For the second straight week, John Zimmerman (Markesan) won the 30 lap late model feature. The win allowed him and Al Schill (Franklin), who made a pass coming out of the final corner to finish second, the chance to move into the late model feature.

Ron Malec (Wadsworth) and Andrew Brocker (Bay View) each won their respective 12 lap consi feature race. Schill Jr. set fast time with a lap of 11.756 seconds and Mark Schroeder took top honors in the Bumper to Bumper Trophy Dash. The late model division has continued it’s strong showing with over 50 cars timing in for the races for the second consecutive week.

Fran Prestay (Twin Lakes) made it two in a row for the Midwest Modified Division as he moved up from his starting spot of outside row 5 . The 30 lap feature looked like it would be a shootout as Prestay moved up on Jeff Holmgren Jr. (East Troy) just passed the half way. Holmgren maintained a slight advantage until his car shut down heading down the front stretch with just 4 laps to go. Prestay cruised to the win and was followed in the top five by Mike Bidlack (Elkhorn), Chris Harman (East Troy), Florian Wisinski (Greenfield) and Larry Reihbrandt (Wauwatosa).

Modified fast time was set by Prestay who turned a lap of 12.520 seconds. Holmgren took the checkered in the Eldorado Trailer Sales Trophy Dash, which means that drivers will battle again next week for the $1,000.00 in the Eldorado Trailer Sales Clean Sweep Award.

Leading the field at the drop of the checkered for the Slinger Stinger Street Stock Division was Dave Berndt (West Bend). Rounding out the top five in the 18 lap feature was Todd Brauneis (West Allis), Peter Wiedmeyer (West Bend), Roger Schmid (Oconomowoc) and Dennis Prunty (Allenton).

Fast time in the Slinger Stinger division was set by Paul Wagner (West Bend) with a lap of 13.510 seconds and Ron Schmitt (Jackson) and Scott Shambeau (Milwaukee) each won heat races.

The fans were treated to another wild Figure 8 Feature as the field liked meeting in the middle. Dave Haferkorn (Sussex) survived for his second win in as many weeks in the 10 lap shootout with 10 cars.

The Team Cruiser race was won by cousins Dan and Mark Jung (Richfield) and the Speedway Guest Cars race was won by Brad Hetzel. The Speedway Guest Cars give the chance for anyone brave enough to register at the track, the opportunity to return the next Sunday evening and race against 5 other competitors.

Matt Benon drove his vehicle to victory in the Spectator Races.

Results Summary


1. Jamie Wallace (Pell Lake) 13. Donavan Morgan (Oconomowoc)
2. Tony Strupp (West Bend) 14. Conrad Morgan (Wales)
3. Lowell Bennett (Neenah) 15. Danny Heying (Waukesha)
4. Scott Schoeni (Slinger) 16. Rich Loch (Muskego)
5. Mark Schroeder (Green Bay) 17. David Prunty (Lomira)
6. Al Schill Jr. (Franklin) 18. Todd Thelen (Oconomowoc)
7. Jeff Kendall (Montello) 19. Mike Strupp (Theresa)
8. Al Schill (Franklin) 20. Mike Loesche (Pewaukee)
9. Steve Huelsbeck (Milwaukee)
10. Randy Schuler (Mequon)
11. Joel Laufer (Hartford)
12. John Zimmerman (Markesan)

FAST QUALIFIER - Al Schill Jr. (Franklin) - 11.756 seconds
FAST DASH - Mark Schroeder (Green Bay)


1. John Zimmerman (Markesan) 4. Jerry Eckhardt (Watertown)
2. Al Schill (Franklin) 5. Jerry Stenstrup (Muskego)
3. Cindy Peterson (Butler)


1. Ron Malec (Wadsworth) 4. Jerry Mueller (Hartford)
2. Mike Egan (Slinger) 5. Scott Lindsay (Dousman)
3. Scott Weston (Germantown)


1. Andrew Brocker (Bay View) 4. Race McComb (Jackson)
2. Scott Field (Nekoosa) 5. Dave Teske (Menomonee Falls)
3. Burton Brown (Neenah)


1. Fran Prestay (Twin Lakes) 4. Florian Wisinski (Greenfield)
2. Mike Bidlack (Elkhorn) 5. Larry Reihbrandt (Wauwatosa)
3. Chris Harman (East Troy)

FAST QUALIFIER - Fran Prestay (Twin Lakes) - 12.520 seconds
FAST DASH - Jeff Holmgren Jr. (East Troy)


1. Dave Berndt (West Bend) 4. Roger Schmid (Oconomowoc)
2. Todd Brauneis (West Allis) 5. Dennis Prunty (Allenton)
3. Peter Wiedmeyer (West Bend)

FAST QUALIFIER - Paul Wagner (West Bend) - 13.510 seconds
HEAT 1 - Ron Schmitt (Jackson) - 8 laps
HEAT 2 - Scott Shambeau (Milwaukee) - 8 laps

FIGURE 8 WINNER - Dave Haferkorn (Sussex)

TEAM CRUISERS - Dan Jung (Richfield) / Mark Jung (Richfield)

SPEEDWAY GUEST CARS - Brad Hetzel (West Bend)

SPECTATOR RACE - Matt Benon (Brookfield)