Bennett Holds Off Morgan for Opening Night
Points Race Win!

By Daryl Schultz

May 10, 1998; Slinger, WI -  Lowell Bennett (Neenah) held off arch rival Conrad Morgan (Wales) and took home top honors at the LeRoy Meats of Horicon Mother’s Day Special at the Slinger Super Speedway Sunday night. The last two track champions crossed the line nose to tail with Bennett using lap traffic to hold off a valiant charge by Morgan who came up thru the pack after starting the 60 lap main event in the eighth spot. Bennett, who started on the outside pole, pulled out to an almost 4 second lead after the last of 2 cautions came out with just 15 laps remaining.

Morgan slowly cut into the margin and closed up on the rear bumper of Bennett as the laps counted down. Morgan looked to the inside of the Bennett car with just 6 circuits remaining, but was unable to pull even when the two encountered the lap traffic that Bennett used to gain the win. While the top two were battling, another fight ensued for the third spot between Al Schill Jr. (Franklin) and Tony Strupp (West Bend).

Strupp, who earned a win in one of two 75 lap features that kicked off the 51st year of motorsports at the World’s Fastest 1/4 Mile Oval, caught Schill Jr. on lap 43. The two raced side by side for much of the final 10 laps until Strupp would have to follow Schill Jr. around the same traffic the leaders encountered on the final lap. John Zimmerman (Markesan) came home in the 5th position, after he advanced into the feature with a win in the late model semi feature. Bennett also claimed the Mac Tools Half - Way Challenge, netting an additional $150.00.

Zimmerman started on the pole and lead all thirty circuits en route to his checkered flag in the semi. Rounding out the top five were Brady Bennett (Neenah), who also advanced into the main, Al Schill (Franklin), Cindy Peterson (Butler), and Chris Ratajczyk (Menomonee Falls). Andrew Brocker (Bay View) took home the checkered in the consi race, Bennett won the Bumper to Bumper Trophy Dash and Brad Mueller (Random Lake) was fast qualifier with a lap of 11.689 seconds.

Fran Prestay (Twin Lakes) moved up from his eleventh starting spot to claim the 30 lap Midwest Modified feature. Prestay would take the lead 3 laps after the midway point, after the second of two cautions waved on lap 16. Following Prestay in the top five were Jeff Holmgren Jr. (East Troy), Larry Reihbrandt (Wauwatosa), Roger Wittal (East Troy) and Alan Keppert (West Bend). The Eldorado Trailers Sales Trophy Dash was won by Larry Epright (East Troy) and Prestay set fast time for the mods with a lap of 12.460 seconds.

Allenton racer, John Wandrey lead the Slinger Stinger Street Stock 16 lap feature at the drop of the checkered with the top five rounded out by Scott Ascher (Sussex), Mike Pascavis (Sheboygan), Roger Schmid (Oconomowoc) and Todd Brauneis (West Allis). Heat race winners included John Doke (Slinger) and Jim Spring (Grafton) as Schmid timed in the fastest during qualifying.

Dave Haferkorn (Sussex) inherited the win in the Figure 8 Division as a spectacular crash in the middle of the eight on the last lap between leader Chris Price and a back marker ended the race on lap 9 of the scheduled 10 lap feature. Both competitors appeared free of serious injury as they both made their way out of the wrecked cars.

Rob Myers and Duane Olbinski piloted their car to the first ever victory in the newly formed Slinger Team Cruiser Division.

Results Summary


1. Lowell Bennett (Neenah) 10. Mike Loesche (Pewaukee)
2. Conrad Morgan (Wales) 11. Rich Loch (Muskego)
3. Al Schill Jr. (Franklin) 12. Scott Schoeni (Slinger)
4. Tony Strupp (West Bend) 13. Donavan Morgan (Oconomowoc)
5. John Zimmerman (Markesan) 14. Mark Schroeder (Green Bay)
6. Brad Mueller (Random Lake) 15. Brady Bennett (Neenah)
7. David Prunty (Lomira) 16. Todd Thelen (Oconomowoc)
8. Jamie Wallace (Pell Lake) 17. Tom Hromadka (Brookfield)
9. Jeff Holtz (Franklin) 18. Randy Schuler (Mequon)
19. Mike Strupp (Theresa)
20. Rick Ottman (Milwaukee)

FAST QUALIFIER - Brad Mueller (Random Lake) - 11.689 seconds
FAST DASH - Lowell Bennett (Neenah)


1. John Zimmerman (Markesan) 4. Cindy Peterson (Butler)
2. Brady Bennett (Neenah) 5. Chris Ratajczyk (Menomonee Falls)
3. Al Schill (Franklin)


1. Andrew Brocker (Bay View)               4. Scott Field (Nekoosa)

2. Burton Brown (Neenah)                      5. Danny Heying (Waukesha)

3. Scott Weston (Germantown)


1. Fran Prestay (Twin Lakes) 4. Roger Wittal (East Troy)
2. Jeff Holmgren Jr. (East Troy) 5. Alan Keppert (West Bend)
3. Larry Reihbrandt (Wauwatosa)

FAST QUALIFIER - Fran Prestay (Twin Lakes) - 12.460 seconds
FAST DASH - Larry Epright (East Troy)


1. John Wandrey (Allenton) 4. Roger Schmid (Oconomowoc)
2. Scott Ascher (Sussex) 5. Todd Brauneis (West Allis)
3. Peter Wiedmeyer (West Bend)  

FAST QUALIFIER - Roger Schmid (Oconomowoc)
HEAT 1 - John Doke (Slinger) - 8 laps
HEAT 2 - Jim Spring (Grafton) - 8 laps

FIGURE 8 WINNER - Dave Haferkorn (Sussex)

TEAM CRUISERS - Rob Myers / Duane Olbinski