Kendall Scores First Feature Win!
By Daryl Schultz

September 20, 1998; Slinger, WI -  Montello’s Jeff Kendall won his first ever feature during the last night of racing at the Slinger Super Speedway on Sunday night, September 20th. Kendall, who earned the 1998 Rookie-of-the-Year, repeatedly held off challenges from the last two division champions Conrad Morgan (Wales) and Lowell Bennett (Neenah) on his way to victory. Kendall would benefit from Morgan and Bennett battling each other as the laps counted down in the 60 lap late model feature, after Morgan gave the rookie his best shot to get around him. Kendall proved too tough on this night and as he went on to win by two car lengths while Morgan settled for second, Bennett third, Eric Fransen (Franklin) fourth and David Prunty (Lomira) fifth.

Kendall would lead the final 43 laps of the caution free event after starting outside row 2. Polesitter Mike Egan (Slinger) jumped out at the start to a 10 car length advantage on the field until Kendall, Morgan and Bennett lined up and ran the early race leader down. Kendall drove like a veteran as he made his way to the point while working lap 17, all the while contending with the wiley Slinger veterans on his bumper. Morgan attempted passing the rookie using both the low and high grooves on a number of different occasions, but Kendall was up to the challenge and would hold Morgan at bay. Morgan meanwhile had a mirror full of Bennett while the trio encountered lap traffic just ten circuits from the end. Kendall diced his way thru and pulled to his first win.

Kendall also claimed the Mac Tools Half-Way Challenge for the evening and the $300.00 it paid, as the sum rolled over because the previous weeks half way leader did not meet minimum requirements.

Joel Laufer (Hartford) took advantage of his front row starting position en route to his semi feature win. Rounding out the top five was John Zimmerman (Markesan), Joe Gross (Milwaukee), Mike McCabe (Muskego), and Dave Teske (Menomonee Falls). Zimmerman had to work his way through the entire field to put himself in the final transfer position. Zimmerman looked outside second place car Rick Ottman (Milwaukee) working lap 9 and completed the pass the following lap. Ottman would later spin down the front stretch putting himself out of contention.

Tom Hromadka (Brookfield) set fast time with a lap of 11.785 seconds and Morgan won the Bumper to Bumper Trophy Dash.

Fran Prestay (Twin Lakes) continued his strong ‘98 showing with a win in the Midwest Modified feature. Florian Wisinski (Greenfield), who finished runner up to Prestay in the points battle for the year, was racing Prestay side by side for the lead until he got loose in turn 2 working lap 15. Wisinski dropped out of contention for the win, but would manage to hold on for second followed by Chris Peterson (Cedarburg) in third, Brian Holtz (Franklin) in fourth, and Dennis Prunty (Allenton) in fifth.

Prestay and Wisinski had charged to the front and positioned themselves one and two by lap 9 when Larry Reihbrandt (Wauwatosa) spun in turn 2 bringing out the only caution of the race. On the restart, early race leader Mike Bidlack (Elkhorn) would be in third but was passed by Peterson on lap twelve of the 20 lap event.

Wisinski (Greenfield) was fast qualifier with a lap of 12.550 seconds and Mike Bidlack (Elkhorn) won the 10 lap heat race.

Peter Wiedmeyer (West Bend) won his third Slinger Stinger feature of the ‘98 season Sunday night. Wiedmeyer and Paul Wagner (West Bend) were running first and second way ahead of the field when Wagner pulled off the track. Wiedmeyer motored to an easy victory in the 18 lap main and would be followed across the line by Dale Prunty (Allenton), Mike Pascavis (Sheboygan), Dave Berndt (West Bend), and Bill Shavlik (West Bend).

Berndt turned fast time with a lap of 13.678 seconds, Wiedmeyer won the 5 lap dash, and Todd Brauneis (West Allis) won the 8 lap heat race.

Mark Ritger (St. Cloud) followed up his Figure 8 Division Championship with a victory in the final figure 8 feature of the season. Ritger outlasted 9 other drivers in the 10 lap shootout that brought the regular racing season to the end for ‘98.

One last event, the Spectator 200 Enduro and Demo Derby, will close out the year this coming Sunday afternoon, September 27th.

In other racing action, Mark and Ken Fogel won the Team Cruiser division, Joe Wagner won the Speedway Guest Cars, and Scott Graff (Oconomowoc) won the Spectator Elimination races.

Results Summary


1.Jeff Kendall (Montello) 11.John Zimmerman (Markesan)
2.Conrad Morgan (Wales) 12.Scott Schoeni (Slinger)
3.Lowell Bennett (Neenah) 13.Tom Hromadka (Brookfield)
4.Eric Fransen (Franklin) 14.Randy Schuler (Mequon)
5.David Prunty (Lomira) 15.Mike Egan (Slinger)
6.Rich Loch (Muskego) 16.Chad Barker (Caladonia)
7.Cindy Peterson (Butler) 17.Joel Laufer (Hartford)
8.Jerry Eckhardt (Watertown) 18.Dan Mills (Menomonee Falls)
9.Mike Strupp (Theresa) 19.Fran Prestay (Twin Lakes)
10.Jeff Holtz (Franklin) 20.Brad Mueller (Random Lake)

FAST QUALIFIER -Tom Hromadka (Brookfield) - 11.785 seconds
FAST DASH -Conrad Morgan (Wales)- 8 laps


1.Joel Laufer (Hartford) 4.Mike McCabe (Muskego)
2.John Zimmerman (Markesan) 5.Dave Teske (Menomonee Falls)
3.Joe Gross (Milwaukee)


1.Fran Prestay (Twin Lakes) 4.Brian Holtz (Franklin)
2.Florian Wisinski (Greenfield) 5.Dennis Prunty (Allenton)
3.Chris Peterson (Cedarburg)

FAST QUALIFIER -Florian Wisinski (Greenfield)- 12.550 seconds
HEAT -Mike Bidlack (Elkhorn)- 10 laps


1.Peter Wiedmeyer (West Bend) 4.Dave Berndt (West Bend)
2.Dale Prunty (Allenton) 5.Bill Shavlik (West Bend)
3.Mike Pascavis (Sheboygan)

FAST QUALIFIER -Dave Berndt (West Bend) - 13.678 seconds
DASH - Peter Wiedmeyer (West Bend) - 5 laps
HEAT -Todd Brauneis (West Allis)- 8 laps

FIGURE 8 WINNER -Mark Ritger (St. Cloud)- 10 laps

TEAM CRUISERS -Mark Fogel/Ken Fogel- 10 laps

SPEEDWAY GUEST CARS -Joe Wagner - 6 laps

SPECTATOR RACE -Scott Graff (Oconomowoc)