Strupp and Zimmerman Split Twin 50's! Prestay Covers the Field in Midwest Modifieds!
By Daryl Schultz

August 23, 1998; Slinger, WI -  John Zimmerman (Markesan) manhandled his loose car to perfection to win the second 50 lap feature Sunday night as Clark presented Round 3 of the Surge Triple Crown Series at Slinger Super Speedway. Zimmerman moved behind race leader Lowell Bennett (Neenah) on lap 21 and patiently waited for his opportunity to get by. He would pull to the inside of the Bennett ride, as the pair worked lap 45 of the second of the two fifty lap events of the evening that completed the 1998 Surge Series.

Once by, Zimmerman worked to a two car length victory over Bennett, with Rich Loch (Muskego), Eric Fransen (Franklin) and Cindy Peterson (Butler) in the top five. Bennett would take the lead from Peterson by lap 20 with Zimmerman moving into second one lap later. The duo delighted the large crowd as they raced bumper to bumper and/or side by side until Zimmerman powered his loose handling ride on the inside of Bennett. The race experienced 5 cautions, the first of them collecting Brad Mueller (Random Lake), Conrad Morgan (Wales) and Jeff Holtz (Franklin) as the three cars collected each other and the front stretch wall on lap 15. Mueller would return to the track but seen his series championship go by the wayside, along with Holtz, while Morgan was done for the night.

Bennett would take the overall championship, of the series within the series, on the strength of his second place showing, outpointing Mueller. Mueller entered the final of five different 50 lap features that make of the Clark and Surge Triple Crown Series with a 20 point advantage over the eventual champion. Mueller would end in second place overall followed by Zimmerman in third, Peterson fourth and Tony Strupp (West Bend) rounding out the top five.

Strupp won his sixth feature event of the ‘98 season with a checkered flag in the first 50 lap feature of the Clark and Surge Triple Crown Series. Strupp had a four second lead over the group of Mueller, Eric Fransen (Franklin), and Morgan as they came to the finish line. Mueller was on the tail of Fransen from the midway point of the race but Fransen held strong. Working lap 38, Mueller looked under Fransen but would not complete the pass. He then tried the outside groove working lap 47 and would this time be successful in his efforts. Following Strupp, who lead flag to flag, was Mueller, Fransen, Morgan, and Jeff Kendall (Montello) in the top five. Strupp took the lead from his pole position and had three second lead at the halfway point of the race gaining him the Mac Tools Halfway Challenge money.

Chad Barker (Caladonia) led from beginning to end en route to his 30 lap semi feature win. The fourth and final caution on lap 20 put the runner-up cars in position to battle for the point but Barker proved too strong. Rounding out the top five was Scott Schoeni (Slinger) in second, gaining the final transfer position into the feature, Charlie Thon Jr. (Milwaukee) third, Fred Winn (Milwaukee) fourth, and Todd Thelen (Oconomowoc) fifth.

Dave Teske (Menomonee Falls) won the 20 lap consi race for the evening. David Prunty (Lomira) set fast time with a lap of 11.680 seconds (77.055 mph), and Mueller won the five lap Bumper to Bumper Trophy Dash.

Fran Prestay (Twin Lakes) dominated the Midwest Modified feature with his tenth win of the ‘98 season. Prestay looked inside race leader Dennis Prunty (Allenton) working lap 22. By the following lap, the top four cars of Prestay, Prunty, Chris Harman (East Troy), and Larry Reihbrandt (Wauwatosa) pulled away from the field as Mike Bidlack (Elkhorn) and Florian Wisinski (Greenfield) battled side-by-side for fifth. Prestay, who started inside the sixth row, moved into the top five on lap 13 of the 30 lap event. He was followed across the line by Prunty, Harman, Reihbrandt, and Bidlack, who edged ahead of Wisinski at the line. Prestay turned fast time with a lap of 12.427 seconds and John Kruschel (Sussex) won the Eldorado Trailer Sales Trophy Dash.

Dave Berndt (West Bend) took the checkered in the 18 lap Slinger Stinger feature. Berndt, who started inside row 2, took the point on lap 7 on his way to the win. Rounding out the top five were Peter Wiedmeyer (West Bend), Paul Wagner (West Bend), Roger Schmid (Oconomowoc), and Dale Prunty (Allenton). Bill Shavlik (West Bend) and Dave Wolf (Pewaukee) won their respective heat races and Wiedmeyer was fast qualifier with a lap of 13.595 seconds.

Mark Ritger (St. Cloud) won the 10 lap Figure 8 feature. The win gained Ritger 100 points, moving him within 10 points of leader Steve Schuldt (Sussex) in the overall points battle.

In other racing action, Rob Meyers and Duane Olbinski won the Team Cruiser division. Paul Kubiak took the checkered in the Speedway Guest cars and Jason Thom of Fort Atkinson won the Spectator Elimination Races.

Results Summary


1.Tony Strupp (West Bend) 11.David Prunty (Lomira)
2.Brad Mueller (Random Lake) 12.Toby Rott (Slinger)
3.Eric Fransen (Franklin) 13.Jeff Holtz (Franklin)
4.Conrad Morgan (Wales) 14.Tom Hromadka (Brookfield)
5.Jeff Kendall (Montello) 15.Mike Strupp (Theresa)
6.Lowell Bennett (Neenah) 16.Burton Brown (Neenah)
7.Mike Loesche (Pewaukee) 17.Al Schill (Franklin)
8.Rich Loch (Muskego) 18.Wayne Freimund (West Allis)
9.Cindy Peterson (Butler) 19.Jamie Wallace (Pell Lake)
10.John Zimmerman (Markesan) 20.John Mueller (Hubertus)


1.John Zimmerman (Markesan) 11.Jeff Holtz (Franklin)
2.Lowell Bennett (Neenah) 12.Toby Rott (Slinger)
3.Rich Loch (Muskego) 13.David Prunty (Lomira)
4.Eric Fransen (Franklin) 14.Brad Mueller (Random Lake)
5.Cindy Peterson (Butler) 15.Tom Hromadka (Brookfield)
6.Mike Strupp (Theresa) 16.Tony Strupp (West Bend)
7.Jeff Kendall (Montello) 17.Conrad Morgan (Wales)
8.Al Schill (Franklin) 18.Mike Loesche (Pewaukee)
9.Burton Brown (Neenah) 19.Jamie Wallace (Pell Lake)
10.Wayne Freimund (West Allis)

FAST QUALIFIER -David Prunty (Lomira) - 11.680 seconds
FAST DASH - Brad Mueller (Random Lake) - 5 laps


1.Chad Barker (Caladonia) 4.Fred Winn (Milwaukee)
2.Scott Schoeni (Slinger) 5.Todd Thelen (Oconomowoc)
3.Charlie Thon Jr. (Milwaukee)


1.Dave Teske (Menomonee Falls) 4.Dean Gagliano (Brookfield)
2.Dan Tapel (Lake Mills) 5.Lance Bjorkland (Oconomowoc)
3.Mike McCabe (Muskego)


1.Fran Prestay (Twin Lakes) 4.Larry Reihbrandt (Wauwatosa)
2.Dennis Prunty (Allenton) 5.Mike Bidlack (Elkhorn)
3.Chris Harman (East Troy)

FAST QUALIFIER -Fran Prestay (Twin Lakes) - 12.427 seconds
FAST DASH - John Kruschel (Sussex) - 8 laps


1.Dave Berndt (West Bend) 4.Roger Schmid (Oconomowoc)
2.Peter Wiedmeyer (West Bend) 5.Dale Prunty (Allenton)
3.Paul Wagner (West Bend)

FAST QUALIFIER -Peter Wiedmeyer (West Bend) - 13.595 seconds
HEAT 1 -Bill Shavlik (West Bend) - 8 laps
HEAT 2 -Dave Wolf (Pewaukee) - 8 laps

FIGURE 8 WINNER -Mark Ritger (St. Cloud)

TEAM CRUISERS -Rob Meyers/Duane Olbinski


SPECTATOR RACE -Jason Thom (Fort Atkinson)