Bennett Captures Win and Points Lead!
By Daryl Schultz

July 12, 1998; Slinger, WI -  The Bumper to Bumper 80 lap late model feature was won by Lowell Bennett (Neenah) at the Slinger Super Speedway Sunday night, July 12th. Bennett not only earned the win for the night, but would also take over the points lead as the season long battle kicked off it’s second half.

Bennett would outlast fast qualifier for the evening, Brad Mueller (Random Lake), as the duo moved into the top two positions on lap 54 and would race nose to tail over the last 26 circuits. Mueller would be able to peek to the inside of the eventual winner, but could never pull up to make a strong bid for the pass. The final of 4 cautions flew on lap 66 and allowed the top two to cool their tires setting up a 14 lap sprint to the end. Mueller, who fell back as far as 15th in the early stages, again glued himself to the rear deck of Bennett on the restart but the new points leader would hold him off and claim the victory.

David Prunty (Lomira) had a strong run as he would move up to notch third after starting inside of row eight, with Rich Loch (Muskego) scoring another top five finish in fourth and Tony Strupp (West Bend) rounding out the top five. Strupp worked extremely hard to claim the fifth spot after he earned his way into the main on the strength of winning the semi feature and one of two transfer spots that go along with it. Brian Hoppe (Madison) had inherited the lead on lap 50 as Cindy Peterson (Butler) spun exiting turn four after leading from the outset from her pole position.

Hoppe’s lead was short lived as he brought out the third caution as he spun while battling with Scott Schoeni (Slinger) which turned over the point to Bennett. The Bumper to Bumper sponsored driver, Hoppe, would have to retire for the night as a left rear tire deflated and Schoeni would be relegated to the rear as a result of the contact.

Veteran drivers Strupp and Al Schill (Franklin) were one and two respectively to capture the transfer positions in the 30 lap late model semi feature. Points leader Conrad Morgan (Wales) would advance from his 10th starting position to move into the top five on lap five, but would finish on the bumper of the Schill car to just miss advancing to the feature. Rounding out the top five were John Mueller (Hubertus) in fourth and Jamie Wallace (Pell Lake) in fifth.

In other late model action, Dave Teske (Menomonee Falls) won the 20 lap late model consi race, the afformentioned Mueller was fast qualifier with a lap of 11.670 seconds (77.121 MPH) and Mike Loesche (Pewaukee) won the Bumper to Bumper Trophy Dash.

Dennis Prunty (Allenton) won his first ever feature in the Midwest Modified Division as he was able to hold off strong charges by Florian Wisinski (Greenfield) and Fran Prestay (Twin Lakes) enroute to his victory. Wisinski looked both high and low over the last half of the race to get around Prunty until a lap car cut off Wisinski’s best chance. After having to slow, Wisinski encountered a battle from current points leader Prestay which helped Prunty drive to the win.

The three were tightly bunched together coming out of the final turn when Prunty took the checkered. Wisinski edged out Prestay for second, with Prestay, who pulled double duty also driving in the late model division, settling for third. John Kruschel (Butler) and Larry Reihbrandt (Wauwatosa) came across the line in fourth and fifth, respectively in the 30 lap event. Kruschel won the Eldorado Trailer Sales Trophy Dash and Prestay set fast time with a lap of 12.566 seconds.

Ron Schmitt (Jackson) cruised to a victory in the Slinger Stinger feature for his first win of the ‘98 season. Schmitt would take the top position from Dean Olla (Milwaukee) on lap six and the two would remain one and two for the remainder of the event. Rounding out the top five were John Wandrey (Allenton), Dave Berndt (West Bend), and Scott Ascher (Sussex). Berndt and Mark Bitzan (Menomonee Falls) each won their respective 8 lap heat race. Fast qualifier was Bill Shavlik (West Bend) who turned a lap of 13.536 seconds.

Mark Ritger (St. Cloud) was the winner of the Figure 8 feature, also claiming his first win of the season. Ritger outlasted the field which seen 13 cars start the race in the 10 lap feature.

In other racing action, Dan and Mark Jung won the Team Cruiser division, Carl Schultz was the winner of the Speedway Guest Cars, and Carl Trapp (Sussex) won the Spectator Elimination race with his 1972 Nova.

Results Summary


1. Lowell Bennett (Neenah) 11.Cindy Peterson (Butler)
2.Brad Mueller (Random Lake) 12.Scott Schoeni (Slinger)
3.David Prunty (Lomira) 13.Al Schill (Franklin)
4.Rich Loch (Muskego) 14.Jeff Kendall (Montello)
5.Tony Strupp (West Bend) 15.Mike Loesche (Pewaukee)
6.Randy Schuler (Mequon) 16.John Zimmerman (Markesan)
7.Jerry Eckhardt (Watertown) 17.Al Schill Jr. (Franklin)
8.Mike Egan (Slinger) 18.Brian Hoppe (Madison)
9.Tom Hromadka (Brookfield) 19.Mark Schroeder (Green Bay)
10.Chad Barker (Caladonia) 20.Eric Fransen (Franklin)

FAST QUALIFIER - Brad Mueller (Random Lake) - 11.670 seconds
FAST DASH - Mike Loesche (Pewaukee) - 8 laps


1.Tony Strupp (West Bend) 4.John Mueller (Hubertus)
2.Al Schill (Franklin) 5.Jamie Wallace (Pell Lake)
3.Conrad Morgan (Wales)


1.Dave Teske (Menomonee Falls) 4.Russ Peterson (Hartland)
2.Mike McCabe (Muskego) 5.Todd Peterson
3.Burton Brown (Neenah)


1.Dennis Prunty (Allenton) 4.John Kruschel (Butler)
2.Florian Wisinski (Greenfield) 5.Larry Reihbrandt (Wauwatosa)
3.Fran Prestay (Twin Lakes)

FAST QUALIFIER - Fran Prestay (Twin Lakes) - 12.566 seconds
FAST DASH - John Kruschel (Butler) - 8 laps


1.Ron Schmitt (Jackson) 4. Dave Berndt (West Bend)
2.Dean Olla (Milwaukee) 5.Scott Ascher (Sussex)
3.John Wandrey (Allenton)

FAST QUALIFIER - Bill Shavlik (West Bend) - 13.536 seconds
HEAT 1 -Dave Berndt (West Bend) - 8 laps
HEAT 2 - Mark Bitzan (Menomonee Falls)- 8 laps

FIGURE 8 WINNER - Mark Ritger (St. Cloud) - 10 laps

TEAM CRUISERS - Dan Jung/Mark Jung - 10 laps

SPEEDWAY GUEST CARS - Carl Schultz - 6 laps

SPECTATOR RACE - Carl Trapp (Sussex)