Loch First Time Feature Winner!
By Daryl Schultz

June 21, 1998; Slinger, WI -  Rich Loch (Muskego) claimed his first ever feature win in the late model division during the SRMi Trailers Group / Featherlite Trailers Pat Schauer Memorial 60 at the Slinger Super Speedway, Sunday night, June 21st. Loch muscled his way to an eight car length victory has he steadily pulled away from runner up John Zimmerman (Markesan) after a red flag was displayed on the track at the half-way mark of the 60 lap feature honoring the late Watertown driver. Following Loch would be Zimmerman, David Prunty (Lomira), Conrad Morgan (Wales) and Cindy Peterson (Butler) in the top five. Loch would make the winning pass on lap 17 as he made his way around Chad Barker (Caladonia).

Loch would control the pace of the race throughout the evening after making his way to the point from his second row starting spot. The battle would be for the third spot as Prunty gave way to Morgan as the two worked lap 27. Prunty stuck on the rear deck of the Morgan machine and would use the inside groove to motor back around the 4 time track champion, 11 laps later. The duo would be joined by Peterson late in the race, but positions would not change when the checkered flag fell. The red flag came out as ‘97 Rookie-of-the-Year Mark Schroeder (Green) and second year driver, Todd Thelen (Oconomowoc) tangled in the third and fourth turns with Thelen coming to rest on the top of Schroeder’s right front quarter panel and windshield. Both drivers escaped without injury, as it was the only caution during the race.

Jeff Kendall (Montello) took home top honors in the 30 lap late model semi feature for the night. Kendall was off to an early lead until the second caution on lap 28 closed the field up on the leader to make the final two laps a shootout. Kendall would hold on for the win, his third straight semi-feature in a row for the Rookie contender, and was followed by Joel Laufer (Hartford) as the two earned transfer positions to the main.

Rounding out the top five was Jerry Stenstrup (Muskego) in third, Al Schill (Franklin) in fourth, and Jamie Wallace (Pell Lake) in fifth. Burton Brown (Neenah) won the consi race and Zimmerman took home the checkered in the Bumper to Bumper Trophy Dash. Setting fast time for the second week in a row was Brad Mueller (Random Lake) with a lap of 11.713 seconds on the “World’s Fastest 1/4 Mile Oval.

Brian Holtz (Franklin) won his first Midwest Modified feature of the season in commanding fashion. Holtz looked under race leader Larry Epright (East Troy) working lap 21 and would hang onto the position for the remaining 9 circuits. Epright had lead all the laps until the Holtz pass and would experience problems and pull off the track shortly after. Following Holtz across the line was John Kruschel (Butler), Jeff Holmgren Jr. (East Troy), Larry Reihbrandt (Wauwatosa), and Roger Wittal (East Troy). Fast time for the Midwest Modified division was set by Matt Raudabaugh (Menomonee Falls) who turned a lap of 12.494 seconds and Fran Prestay (Twin Lakes) won the Eldorado Trailer Sales Trophy Dash.

Paul Wagner (West Bend) took the lead with only two laps remaining in the Slinger Stinger feature event en route to his victory in the eighteen lap event. Wagner was followed across the line by polesitter Dale Prunty (Allenton) who lead every lap prior to the lead takeover late in the contest. Rounding out the top five was Dean Olla (Milwaukee), Scott Ascher (Sussex), and Roger Schmid (Oconomowoc). Bill Shavlik (West Bend) was fast qualifier with a lap of 13.646 seconds and Dan Miller (Sussex) and Wagner each won their respective 8 lap heat races.

Shane Becker (Iron Ridge) inherited the win in the Figure 8 feature event as the top two cars tangled on the final lap.

In other racing action, winning the Team Cruiser division was Dan and Mark Jung. Roger Pascavis took the checkered in the Speedway Guest Cars and Torre Zweifel (West Bend) won the Spectator Elimination Race.

Results Summary


1. Rich Loch (Muskego) 11. Mike Loesche (Pewaukee)
2. John Zimmerman (Markesan) 12. Tom Hromadka (Brookfield)
3. David Prunty (Lomira) 13. Mike Egan (Slinger)
4. Conrad Morgan (Wales) 14. Chris Ratajczyk (MenomoneeFalls)
5. Cindy Peterson (Butler) 15. Jeff Kendall (Montello)
6. Tony Strupp (West Bend) 16. Joe Gross (Milwaukee)
7. Lowell Bennett (Neenah) 17. Mark Schroeder (Green)
8. Brad Mueller (Random Lake) 18. Todd Thelen (Oconomowoc)
9. Donavan Morgan (Oconomowoc) 19. Joel Laufer (Hartford)
10. Chad Barker (Caladonia) 20. Race McComb (Jackson)

FAST QUALIFIER - Brad Mueller (Random Lake) - 11.713 seconds
FAST DASH - John Zimmerman (Markesan) - 8 laps


1. Jeff Kendall (Montello) 4. Al Schill (Franklin)
2. Joel Laufer (Hartford) 5. Jamie Wallace (Pell Lake)
3. Jerry Stenstrup (Muskego)


1. Burton Brown (Neenah) 4. Andrew Brocker (Bay View)
2. Andy Wendt (Watertown) 5. Scott Weston (Germantown)
3. Dan Mills (Menomonee Falls)


1. Brian Holtz (Franklin) 4. Larry Reihbrandt (Wauwatosa)
2. John Kruschel (Butler) 5. Roger Wittal (East Troy)
3. Jeff Holmgren Jr. (East Troy)

FAST QUALIFIER - Matt Raudabaugh (Menomonee Falls) - 12.494 seconds
FAST DASH - Fran Prestay (Twin Lakes) - 8 laps


1. Paul Wagner (West Bend) 4. Scott Ascher (Sussex)
2. Dale Prunty (Allenton) 5. Roger Schmid (Oconomowoc)
3. Dean Olla (Milwaukee)

FAST QUALIFIER - Bill Shavlik (West Bend) - 13.646 seconds
HEAT 1 - Dan Miller (Sussex) - 8 laps
HEAT 2 - Paul Wagner (West Bend) - 8 laps

FIGURE 8 WINNER - Shane Becker (Iron Ridge)- 10 laps

TEAM CRUISERS - Dan Jung / Mark Jung - 10 laps

SPEEDWAY GUEST CARS - Roger Pascavis - 6 laps

SPECTATOR RACE - Torre Zweifel (West Bend)